We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Natural Bridge getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
South-Central Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Natural Bridge getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

We have stayed at HoJo before in other states so we were familiar with the hotel chain and wanted to make our trip memorable in a positive way. It was a very good choice, we had a refrigerator in our room, a balcony, a large swimming pool and it wasn't crowded. Everything was very convenient even the ice machine was just out the door of our room. The rooms were built so well we couldn't hear anything in the hallways or in other rooms. This hotel has five levels and we were on the fourth floor. The air was cool mountain air, that alone was worth the price of the room which was less than 75 dollars for three adults! The room was also large, giving you plenty of room to avoid feeling any bit of being cramped. We really felt at home there, more than we expected.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Marie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    283
    218
    98
    70
See reviews for
432
186
80
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west chester pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

canceled a reservation for two rooms at this hotel weeks in advance. A charge for this hotel showed up on my credit card. Made numerous calls about this charge to the hotel with the promise the manager would call me back. He never did. I finally "caught" the manager in and was told that I had only canceled one of the two rooms, and the charge was for the "other" room. This of course was not the case, I canceled the entire reservation, I had NO reason to keep just one room. The hotel claimed I had two separate reservation numbers and needed to cancel both. I only had one number which I used to cancel the entire reservation. Deal with this hotel only as a last resort. They will do whatever they can to rip you off. There are too many other nice hotels in Lexington... Try the Comfort Inn, way nicer to deal with and way more professional.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corgilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

The reviews were mixed so I decided to try this motel but don't do it if you take my advice. It is pretty much a bad motel to charge $99 and I could have stayed in another and have much nicer amenities. I called and complained about the refrigerator being really dirty with melted ice cream inside and no one offered to clean it. Lots of noise at night and generally speaking not very clean looking place. Way too unkept for the price. I did have several bites on my neck and have to think the animals left fleas as one other reviewer says. The man at the desk was not very nice and I expected much better from the service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Although I have stayed at this hotel in the past with no problems, this last time my room was not clean; the refrigerator was filthy, and I was overcharged for the room. I was quoted one rate on the phone when booking, and then charged more upon checkout. I called to try and resolve the situation, and the manager's behavior bordered on abusive. Needless to say, I did not get the difference I was owed. Also, there were dogs barking in the hallways all night!! Never again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wals01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Arkansas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Parent's weekend in Lexington is a mad scramble for hotel rooms. Without a truly nice hotel in town, parents are stuck with paying $250 for the equivalent of a $75 room. That is what happened to us at Howard Johnson. A perfectly fine $75 room is not nearly as acceptable when the charge is $250.

This hotel was old when I attended school there in 1980. While I'm sure it has had remodels, it is still an old hotel. If you put out a Do Not Disturb sign, be prepared to open the door to a stack of fresh towels. You missed your chance to have the room cleaned. $250/night and no room cleaning. Oh well, it's parents weekend.

  • Liked — Only room left for parents weekend
  • Disliked — No maid service and 300% over priced.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

Beware! Rooms that are supposed to be "smoke and/or pet free" are not! And if you question the desk staff about it, they will falsely tell you the room is definitely smoke/pet free. Customer service is very lacking, but they are quick to take your money. So rather than suffer a night of misery, go somewhere else!

  • Liked — View of mountains
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank offtoanotherplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

This was probably a real nice place 25 years ago, but now run down. They've upgraded the lobby but not the rooms. Basic hotel for overnight stay, but we found at bedtime there were fleas in the room, as apparently they allow pets. Had fridge and microwave in room. Bathroom was fine. They advertise hot breakfast buffet and mini-golf on property. What a joke. The "hot" breakfast is some sort of yellow egg "patties" warmed in a crock pot. Everything else is toast and cheap honeybuns. And they charge $3 per person to play on their little homemade putt putt course?! No thanks. Next time will look for someplace newer and cleaner.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHappyVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing