We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waffles and WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed July 17, 2014

First time in area, not sure what to expect. Hampton was $200, Wingate $140 - no thanks.
Furniture is dated but rooms were clean. There's a thing or two, here and there, which needs to be fixed. But, the rooms and hallways were clean, hallways were a/c'd, awesome views from balcony. All staff very friendly. Strong wifi signal, throughout.
I travel, alot. There was nothing here that would keep me from not returning - unless Hampton dropped to $85.
Very nice breakfast bar - with waffles. Nice pool area if travelling with kids. Lexington is 7 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for 'mountain' side for awesome sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dbenn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

This motel is about 6 miles from downtown Lexington so no walking. OK if you are interested in an interstate night but don't need to see the historic town. The staff was very friendly and the views are quite pleasant.

The room was dated HOJO, lumpy beds and pillows, etc. Each room has a balcony with sliding glass door, cheap locks, and a sticker warning "Please lock balcony door at night". Not my idea of a restful night even in Lexington.

They do a good job with what they have but I will stay at a newer property next time. I do not feel that safe on the outskirts of town.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank emiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

First off, we had a coupon for $50.00 on a Thursday. We traveled from Alabama and it was very late when we arrived. The guy at the desk told my husband that they didn't have any rooms available left at that rate. Being so late and we were so tired we just took the $90.00 room. We were going to wake up at 6am the next morning and drive to our next destination..Well at 5:15am I woke up and felt something on my face. I tried to brush it off, well whatever was on my face, had legs and a hard shell and I had to slap it off of me. It totally freaked me out. There was no way that I could lay back down. I've stayed in many hotels before, however, I have NEVER had a bug crawl on my face. YUCK! I would never stay at the place again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LBurt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I look for price and cleanliness when I stay somewhere, both of these were on point at this hotel. It is an older complex, but the room was clean and staff was nice. Breakfast wasn't bad either. There are sliding doors to the outside balcony in each room...I wasn't completely happy with that being on the ground floor but the locks all worked fine and it was well lit outside so I didn't let it bother me too much.

Summary: Overall a good nights sleep for a decent price. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like the idea of the sliding doors on the first floor, just ask for second or third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This older hotel is well of the busy road, so traffic noise in minimal, but the trucks and motorcycles belonging to the guests can be a problem at times. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and able to accommodate most requests. The rooms are large enough, but very out of date, with tired, worn furnishings and bedding. That being said, it was as clean as you can get old carpeting and fixtures. There could have been more places to plug in electronics, but the rooms were designed and furnished before people carried all those things with them when traveling.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passage1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We chose this hotel because we could bring our dog. The hotel is feeling its age but it is well cared for. Our room was very large and comfortable. Although it is older, it is clean and the staff was very helpful. We were comfortable having a dog as the hotel is on top of a hill and very rural. The dog had plenty of room to run. The pool was very nice and I had it all to myself. Breakfast wasn't anything special, but nice. The location is very isolated so don't expect to walk to stores or pretty much anything else. It is a great place to stay if you want peace and quiet.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a dog, there is a $13 fee. Be sure to tell them you have a pet so they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juy720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
437 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Lexington
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range: $60 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marvel at gorgeous mountain views when you stay at our Howard Johnson Inn Lexington hotel. Located near Blue Ridge Parkway and a short drive to downtown Lexington, our pet-friendly hotel boasts scenic vistas, happiness, and easy access to popular sites that include the Virginia Horse Center, major colleges and universities, and several parks. Start your day the happy way at our pet-friendly hotel, and enjoy free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Upload photos or check email with free WiFi, and stay fit and trim in our 24-hour fitness center. Relax with a dip in our seasonal outdoor pool, and take advantage of ample free large-vehicle parking. Visit the 600-acre Virginia Horse Center and get up close and personal with equines, or take the short trip to Virginia Safari Park and meet wildlife not typically found in our state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing