We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Lexington
1 review
“review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel in Lexington Virginia. We were there on vacation and it was located near where we wanted to site see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    276
    209
    94
    67
See reviews for
426
181
76
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is one of the worst places I have seen. Should have known when we pulled up and did not see but a few cars. The hotel did not look anything like the photos shown on line. Checked in and was not impressed the smell was awful. we had a room on the 5th floor. The elevator was nasty, We got off the elevator and that floor smelled worse than the other. We asked for non smoking and everything smell of smoke and god only know what. We open the door to the room and it is very musty, and smell of smoke. sign says non-smoking. That is just the beginning
I DO NOT THINK THEY HAVE CLEANING PEOPLE....... Everything is outdated. Stains are on everything.. First thing I checked for was bed bugs, Thankfully non were found.The carpet has not been cleaned, vacuumed. then went to turn on the air since is was about 90 in there and the ac/heater had so much mold, lent, mildew, dust, combo that I touched it and has to run wash my hands, that is when I discovered that the soap in the bathroom had been left in there from before. The microware still had food in it. The sliding doors to what they called a balcony was dirty and the track for of bugs. Thank goodness we had not taken out belonging in with us. I turned around and checked right back out.. There is no way anyone should stay or want to stay at a place like that. On a Positive note the desk clerk was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank trprice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stopped here on our way to NC. The staff was very polite and our bed was very comfortable. We loved the views from our third floor room. My only complaint is that they didn't offer a crib for our son to use as they mentioned on the phone. They only had pack-and-plays which made for a long and uncomfortable night for our little boy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great outdoor views, good staff, good simple breakfast.. The place is very quiet. About 10 minutes into Lexington where the lovely Washington & Lee campus is. Quant shops and restaurants abound. Very clean and comfortable beds..

Room Tip: Choose the third floor and up as the view of the Lexington and surrounding areas is superb esp at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing