We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
368 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Decent place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice place for a weary traveler to rest their head. Cheap....clean and friendly. Pet friendly too. Stopped here on my way to North Carolina. Free continental breakfast and USA today news paper. Lots of motels on this strip of why. This one looked better than most. Fine place for one night stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank billyandbobthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    276
    208
    94
    67
See reviews for
425
181
76
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We travel for Agility Trials which means traveling with dogs. This is the nicest motel. Very dog friendly. Large rooms w/ fridge - comfortable beds. Nice hot breakfast. Staff outstanding & friendly - very accommodating. Let us checking early

Room Tip: Get a room on front side of building for beautiful view of mountains & sunset. King rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is an anomaly for the HoJo chain. We're told it's the oldest hotel in Lexington, which might lead one to believe it's a dog, but whoever owns this one has done--in our view--a super job of keeping it up. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are comfortable, and the view is amazing. This place sits at the top of a hill, with sweeping views of the countryside, and this is horse country, so it has a rural feel. Friendly staff, and the usual continental breakfast (waffles, cereal, fruit, biscuits, sometimes gravy, toast, coffee, juice) served by a lady who's actually happy to help you and happy to be working there. We adjusted our route back to NM from the east coast just to stay at this hotel again...and we'll be back. An added benefit: a mile up the road is the TA Lee Hi truck stop and Berky's Restaurant. Good menu, good food and--if you're hungry--check out the buffet. No wonder there are so many truck drivers there. Bottom line, this is a great, bargain hotel in a beautiful part of Virginia. If they ever close down, we'll be sad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front, on an upper floor, and enjoy the view. You can open the door to the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontagnardNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Howard Johnson Lexington very nice stay. All staff were GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Tripp C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was a little scary -- top of the hill, creepy statues in the lobby, but we needed a safe place to spend the night on a long trip. Honestly, I had high hopes. But our key wouldn't work in the exterior door -- a major pain when you are carrying a kid and a Pack'n'Play. Then our room reeked of smoke -- even though I don't think there's been smoking rooms in a long time. The worst was that there were people in the room next to us, totally unnecessary in a nearly vacant hotel. We needed a quiet night and didn't get that.

I will say that breakfast was fine and the hotel served its purpose. But I won't be doing HoJo again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, hot water...beat up room with a giant bug on the wall. Entrance is so dark outside the closed restaurant you'll be scared to enter...with so many same-priced hotels nearby that were so nice, I really picked a bad one!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nyjst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel staff was welcoming. I felt very comfortable checking in, the room was great and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing