We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I had a good stay, counter clerk was very polite and helped...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    285
    219
    100
    72
See reviews for
433
187
81
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everything you read in the other reviews is generally true. The rooms are a bit tired, but clean. The staff at the front desk were all attentive. There was a bit of a funky smell in the hallways when we visited, but not in the room. But, when you consider the free breakfast, the $60 price is a bargain. If you're looking for a place to sleep at a good price, this is the place. Just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1rwj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I made reservations for 3 nights at this hotel based on traveler's previous reviews on Trip advisor. I do not consider myself to be a picky traveler but this hotel was one I would not stay in again. The room had wallpaper falling off the walls, the elevator floor was dirty and had food spilled all over it for 3 days (never was cleaned at all). I wore socks in the room as I didn't want to walk on the carpet and if I had not already prepaid, I would have left as there were many other choices in the town. I asked the front desk about historic sites and the teenage girl handed me a city map and said, "Sorry, I don't do history". Do not recommend this to anyone. The breakfast was okay but not much more than a continental.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

WORST HOTEL EVER! Made a reservation for a NON SMOKING room and was told when I checked in that they were "unable to accommodate" my non smoking room stay and placed me in a smoking room. I am SEVERELY allergic to smoke so I advised the staff that I could not stay in a room that was smoking. She stated, "I am sorry, we cannot accommodate your reservation." So I HAD to leave. I was charged for the stay when I NEVER STAYED THERE BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT ACCOMMODATE MY RESERVATION! WHAT WAS THE POINT IN MAKING A RESERVATION IF THEY DON'T OBEY IT?! DO. NOT. EVER. STAY. HERE!

Room Tip: Go across the street to the Hampton Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The old lady in the kitchen who oversees the breakfast is friendly and warm. It feels as if you are in someone's home and she is taking care of you. That experience more than the quality of food is memorable. Coffee was a disaster. So diluted! This hotel is located right next to two other motels (quality inn and days inn). So if you want to just crash for the night and want the cheapest room, price should be your criteria. But if you arrive early and want to enjoy the view from up the hill in the evening or morning, then this hotel should be worth your time. Every room has a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickTimepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Lexington
147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
59 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
368 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing