We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Howard Johnson wouldn't stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Howard Johnson wouldn't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

View of hotel from the highway-impressive. View of the surrounds from the hotel-impressive.
The you move in--rooms were clean(then)but dingy. Beds OK-bathrooms newly redone, but on the cheap. Went across hall when called by another judge for horseshow we were in Lexington to judge--smelled moldy.
Sleep/shower, cosmetics all in place-coffee machine the cheapest-coffee(used two bags to get some flavor. Breakfast, cereal, fruit, egg structures(?), waffles. Gave girl $ 5 to geOFFICt hot sauce--took money, still no hot sauce.
Then the word from the rest of show group--stink bugs in the upper floors--
As days passed, threw pistachio shells on floor to get it vacuumed--no shampoo, no lotion, never changed bed sheets in 6 days I was there.
NO BUSINESS CENTER & CATHODE RAY TVS---impossible you say---bet me!
desk staff very polite & trying to help--easier to prevent a fire than put one out---!!!

Room Tip: Stay on ground floor--DO NOT ACCEPT upstairs rooms--stink bug infestation(apparently every Fall)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    281
    211
    96
    67
See reviews for
428
184
78
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Overall, this is not a bad choice for lodging, especially if you're just passing through. The hotel sits on top of a large hill, which means it's quiet and the views are quite nice. When you get to the top of the hill, the first thing you see is the shuttered restaurant. The parking lot and access road could use some repairs. Check-in was easy and the staff were pleasant (and the staff were very nice the entire stay).

The room was decent sized, there was a small sink outside the bathroom in addition to the full vanity inside the bathroom, and there was a small balcony. However, on the balcony, there were a couple of cups left sitting on the railing, one of them containing cigarette butts. Yuck. It would be nice if they upgraded to flat-panel TVs - the 27" tube television doesn't cut it these days. The beds were comfortable and I was told they just put in new mattresses.

The hotel advertised mini golf, but it looks like the course was just ripped up as there are 18 patches of dirt adjacent to the pool area. There are vending machines on each floor, but the snack machines are the old-fashioned type where you put in 3 quarters and turn the knob and I got ripped off two times. Breakfast was decent, but they close at 9:00 on weekdays. And they do mean 9:00 - when I finished at 9:05, I had to undo the stanchion to exit the breakfast area. Selections included waffles, eggs, english muffins, toast, and cereal. Not a huge variety (i.e., no bagels, only 2 types of cereal), but it was your average hotel breakfast.

All in all, I would probably stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CosmoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreat
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had not stayed in a Howard Johnsons in years and I was not sure what I would find , but I am glad we did. We stayed on the 4th floor in an even # room and the view of the mountains was great. No they do not have the restaurant anymore with the 28 different flavors of ice cream or the fried clams that I remember as a teenager. They do have a nice complementary breakfast. It is convenient to the Intersate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was hands down the WORST hotel experience I have had in a very long time. Two of my coworkers were infested with bed bugs by day 3, and we are all disposing of personal property to avoid transferring them home. The manager insisted that no evidence of bed bugs was found, though they did locate a "flea" in the offending rooms. Apparently, fleas now bite in linear patterns all over the body...and a single flea is clearly able to hop between rooms. We can CONFIRM that these are bed bugs as our coworker found multiple dead bed bugs in her suitcase and clothing after applying pesticide to her suitcase on suspicion of infestation prior to getting home.

Aside from all that, there was mold in every bathroom, other bugs in the rooms (spiders, ants), and I had a used bar of soap in my shower.

Also, the "hot" breakfast is a joke. They have 3 types of cereal, some danishes, a waffle iron, and some pre-made circular eggs in a crock pot.

All in all, it was awful. My skin is still crawling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing