We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a large king room with a gorgeous view. I guess the benefit to being one of the older motels in town is that you have one of the best locations. While the decor is certainly dated and some corners looked dusty, they have done a good job of updating the important things: the bed was extremely comfortable, the sheets were smooth, the shower curtain was clean, and the towels were fluffy.

Just two negatives: While the staff was generally friendly and efficient, it would have been nice if the pack-n-play had been set up in our room, rather than just put there for us to assemble at 11 p.m. Also, the breakfast left much to be desired. Not many options, and very little that was healthy other than the packets of oatmeal. The eggs were practically inedible. It's hard to complain about a free breakfast at the price we paid for the room, but I would have rather paid less for the room and gotten breakfast elsewhere. If we'd been staying more than one night, I would have skipped the hotel's breakfast and been happier.

We'll definitely return to this hotel the next time we're driving through Lexington. I'd like to come in the summer to enjoy the pool and the putt putt course!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    276
    209
    94
    67
See reviews for
426
181
76
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

All I really wanted was a good night's sleep during a long trip. To that end, my low expectations were exceeded.

The room was quite adequate, even spacious, with only a king-size bed in mine. The internet connection worked well (which so seldom happens at hotels like this) and all the furnishings and bathroom layout were up to par. This was no Ritz, and I'm not sure I would have wanted to spend lots of time there while exploring the area, but for passing through, it was up to snuff.

The breakfast gets its own paragraph because it was more than I expected. One could make their own waffles, toast their own English muffins, select their own fruit or cereal, and more. Again, nothing extravagant, but it definitely saved me time and money as I scrambled to get on the road. I'll keep this in mind should I pass through Lexington again.

Hopefully soon they'll fix the sign so folks can find the circuitous driveway in the dark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaggfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, PA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We had to find this in the dark, and as other reviews stated, it is VERY hard to find! We could see it, just couldn't find any signs telling us how to get there. Room was basic, would have like a king bed, only doubles were offered. bed was hard as a board, my mother in law also said her bed was very hard. breakfast was decent, it got us down the road without having to waste time to go somewhere else to eat. bath was very small, not enough room to put cosmetic items..it was a pain.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rockton_PAGlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The room was very large, they have upgraded the mattresses and the beds are very comfortable. Everything else in rthe room is older but in good condition. There is a decent breakfast. The help was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing