We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Finksburg, MD
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Bargain!!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel sat atop a hill with a beautiful view! The front desk person was warm and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable!!! The best part was the incuded breakfast which had hot and cold items...a great deal for the low rate! I would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    302
    233
    119
    91
See reviews for
473
198
90
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here awaiting our trip to the Virginia safari park the next morning. Little did we know that we were about to be hit by a major wind/rain storm called 'micro bursts'?!?!? I had just walked out to go to the gas station down the hill and bam...a tree feel right behind me and trash cans and trees were blowing everywhere. Well, we did not even lose room power even though some did. There was down trees and broken glass at the front lobby, but the staff were right there reassuring everyone and making sure things and people were ok. The next day a power line was down behind the pool and closed it to our daughter's dismay, but, when we asked to really use it; they went above and beyond to check the safety of the area and insure the pool was clean so we could swim. I can't over-emphasize how nice and courteous the staff was. I'm not saying this is a 5 star resort; I'm saying we stayed in the best place possible for our trip and would come here every time. Thanks Ho Jos/Lexington, VA!!!

Room Tip: A top floor near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel was ....decent. The room was pretty clean. The luggage rack in the room was broken, the alarm clock, lamp, tv, and coffee maker were all unplugged. Toilet paper roll was 99 percent used and bathtub mat was black underneat. Little balcony off room was about 1 foot wide by 5 foot long. Barely wide enough to stand on. The sheets and blankets were scratchy but the bed itself was somewhat comfortable. Had to ride the elevator downstairs just to get ice.

WIFI was down the entire weekend. The breakfast was really nothing to speak of. By 830 they were out of pastries, english muffins, and only had toast left. There was nothing to drink other than coffee, oj, or apple juce. I really wanted a glass of ice water, but there was no "wait staff". It is come and get it fare. The eggs were frozen egg patties that were thawed in the microwave, the biscuits for biscuits and gravy were cold (right from the fridge). Next time I will skip the breakfast and go get something elsewhere. We had a room in the back, no view of anything but the parking lot. We were awakened several times in the night by Harley Davidson revving engines. If this room were $50 I would think about staying there again but for $100+ no way!!

Room Tip: Choose a room elsewhere, or atleast get a mountain view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanegaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

On my way to Pennsylvania to pick up my grandaughter for summer vacation here in Tennessee, I started searching for a good place that would be a good stopping point at least or near halfway, so i chose Lexington, Va. because it was close to Natural Bridge, a place I wanted to visit on the road trip. My fellow travelers on this forum gave it pretty decent reviews, so I checked it out online and got a price of around 70 bucks, so I then called the motel directly and got a price of around 60 bucks, so I booked it. The motel is right off the interstate. It sits up on a hill and the views are amazing! Check in was a breeze. The lady at the front desk was super nice. This motel has 4 or 5 floors, all with balconies overlooking the mountains. I chose a ground floor room close to the pool. It was easier just to take our stuff in thru the sliding glass door. The main door opened into a corridor with easy access to the lobby and pool. Our room was spotless and cool. Beds were comfy. Just perfect. The pool area was very nice also. My son and I sat out there and just relaxed while the kids played in the pool. Once again, amazing views from here as well. They even had a mini golf area beside the pool and the kids loved that. It needed updating, but still fun. The next morning before anyone else woke up, I made some coffee and went and sat on this bench out front on the hill and enjoyed my coffee looking at those beautiful mountains and thanking God for their beauty. Free breakfast was another perk. They had waffles, eggs, fruit, bagels, muffins, juice and cereal. They advertise that they have gravy and biscuits, but the clerk told me that was only on the weekends. Bummer. It was Monday:) Easy check out. This will be my stopping point from now on. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambsk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We arrived at this advertised "pet friendly" hotel to find a big sign that our dogs could not be left " unattended" or even crated in the room. This is not even mentioned on their website. What is mentioned is how pet friendly this place supposedly is and to enjoy the many activities close to the hotel: natural bridge, Virginia horse center...how can we enjoy all these things if the dogs can't stay in the room? We drove home 4 hours very disappointed. Update your website!!!!!! We ended up driving home immediately...

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wagneramye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Wabash, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We found the room clean, easy to get to from the interstate, and close to some shopping and eating. The breakfast was decent and filling. The desk staff and workers were extremely friendly. The pool was nice. The hotel for the price was a bargain. Would stay again if we were coming this way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a beautiful view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great bed, scratchy towels, who cares the bed was worth it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Lexington
181 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
401 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
17.3 mi away
Natural Bridge Historic Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing