We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here because the hotel gives us a discounted rates since we attend the horse shows at the Virginia horse center each year. But you definitely get what you pay for. The breakfast ok, they have breads, waffles, eggs juice and coffee. The beds in the rooms are more like sleeping on cardboard. The tv in our room would go fuzzy until we would tap the side of it and the picture would return to normal. The room had an overall musty smell to it. The air conditioner is so loud it wakes you up in the middle of the night when it turns on. While I was showering the water would turn scalding hot...so i would turn the temp down and it would go freezing...which made it difficult to take a shower there. I used the treadmill in their gym but the tread was so worn down it made it too slippery to run on it. The only plus to this hotel is that the staff is really nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tymchakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    293
    227
    109
    78
See reviews for
450
191
85
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We didn't expect the hotel to be so modern and up to date. Everything, and I mean everything was redone and so very clean and nice. Friendly staff and great nights rest. I will stay here every time I go through this area.

Bob and Karla Hall

Paducah Kentucky

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlakhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The room was large, clean and well maintained. Hotel is at the top of a hill. Nice views of the Blue Ridge Mountains from room. Great value. Basic continental breakfast. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountainside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We needed a hotel for the volunteers for our horse show. Someplace clean and willing to work with us. Joel Roy, the general manager and his staff went out of their way to take care of us! with 60 plus people in 40 rooms we probably proved to be a challenge but they took care of us like we were individual customers.

We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: Loved the veiw from the balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meekone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canal fulton ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our family vacations to the beach have always included a layover someplace in Va. so when we chose Lexington Va. little did we know how rich in National Heritage our destination was. The staff at the Howard Johnson Inn was warm and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the Blue Ridge mountains. We used our location as a base to explore local historical spots and the enjoy a wonderful meal at a local restaurant. Our complimentary morning breakfast was hearty enough to fuel us for the final leg of our destination. with all of the hospitality we experienced at our stay at Howard Johnson in Lexington ,our family has found at great new stop on our way to the beach! Thanks for Everything The Russell's

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yesman5257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The front desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and were especially helpful in making suggestions for sightseeing opportunities. The room was large and clean, and the windows were clean, I had no issues or complaints. The cleaning staff did a great job cleaning the room and the location and view from the balcony was great. There was plenty of hot water in the morning. The hotel is showing its age but everything was clean and well kept and in good condition and I was pleasantly surprised. I plan to stay there again this fall. I did not use the pool or the dining area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstronomerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Although showing its age it is very well maintained and clean. The rooms are very spacious. The waffles and scrambled eggs were a nice touch with the continental breakfast. The pool is sparkling clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyAEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Lexington
170 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
77 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
385 reviews
17.3 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing