We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Lexington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Although showing its age it is very well maintained and clean. The rooms are very spacious. The waffles and scrambled eggs were a nice touch with the continental breakfast. The pool is sparkling clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the hills.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyAEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 994 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed here recently with my husband and two year old. Room was very nice....spacious and clean. Breakfast offerings were pretty good. Pool looked nice, though we didn't use. Very nice mountain views. Paid $79 per night plus tax (which was actually the most expensive of the hotels we stayed at in the Shenandoah Valley) but it was a decent rate compared to other Lexington hotels. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateben05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

perfect place to stay when traveling with a pet, as they have rooms with private patios, perfect for your pet, and the motel is on a hill overlooking the mountains...spectacular view...great people at front desk

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Good stay at a reasonable price. Older hotel but it was clean. Pretty decent breakfast with make-your-own waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy and other normal fare. It has an 18 hole mini-golf as part of the hotel that was fun. It's about 30 years old and falling apart (and could have been really good with just some basic upkeep) but was still fun for the kids and me. Rooms were decent size. Everything worked fine and we didn;t have any noise problems but I could tell that if neighbors or hallway had been loud, we would have known it. Only drawback was that they appeared to have only one person working in the evening so if she had to go check on something at a room, she left everyone waiting at the counter til she came back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spoonsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this facility and were really impressed with it. The staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous. The rooms were really clean and fresh. In fact smelled like they had just taken the linen out of the dryer :-) The beds were comfortable, felt like a glove and the water pressure and temperature of the shower was just right for us. The view from our patio overlooking Lexington was refreshing to see 1st thing in the morning. While we were there we had the pleasure of meeting Cathy the Housekeeping manager and Janice the Guest Services Representative who displayed a great deal of integrity about their jobs and represented the company very well (they should get a bonus). Thank you Howard Johnsons for making our drive from CT well worth it! WE'LL BE BACK SOON!!

Robert & Theresa Harris from CT :-)

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Lexinginton
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresaharris24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed at Howard Johnsons, Lexington VA in January & March-April for Dog Agility Trials. The motel was pet freindly with grass for the dogs, rooms were clean and comfortable. They went out of their way to accomodate the early morning hours of agility competitors by having their breakfast bar open earlier than the usual time !! Price was reasonable and you did not hear the traffic from Rt.11.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogagility811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We recently stayed at the Howard Johnson Inn while attending a baseball tournament at various locations around the Lexington area and our team of 15 yr old boys and their parents had a wonderful experience that weekend. After games we'd head back to the hotel and the boys would swim in the pool to cool off. And, every morning we loaded up on a great breakfast!

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Lexington area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutlawBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
185 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
413 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range: $58 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing