We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, smelled of damp!”
Review of Maple Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maple Hall Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tired, smelled of damp!”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Dead flies in the bath, musty, damp and right beside the main road...not how it's portrayed by the website. Service was polite and good however.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Binky1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    18
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My only criticisms of this hotel are that there is no safe in the room and there is no Wi-Fi. I left my laptop and valuables on a table in my room and nothing was stolen. It is that kind of hotel. Quiet, secure, and with friendly service. The rooms I saw were spotless, and the furniture was Victorian-style but in excellent shape. The art work was Victorian, and there were ceramic logs in the in-room gas fireplace. The floor was shiny, random-width wood plank (probably the original), set off by attractive area rugs. US highway 11 was visible from my window but I never heard a sound from it. The continental breakfast was ample with yogurt, juice, cereal, milk, coffee, fruit, bagels, jams, and various rolls and sweet breads.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Upsilon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had a reservation for two nights, and left after the first night. In spite of what their website says, there is NO resturant, and no lounge. The room in which we stayed had not been maintained well. There was pleanty of room, but it was just not functional. The A/C made noise all night sounding like a dish washer (my wife's description). My wife said that the room was not cleaned well enough. Security was lacking, since the front desk was vacant from 8 PM until the next morning about 7 AM.
Sorry, we'll not return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank JRWJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

In spite of the other negative reviews, I loved this place! Was only able to stay one night, but I want to go back soon and stay several nights. True, it's next to the noisy Route 81, but I pretended it was the roar of Civil War guns (I know, it's a stretch). Still my room was very charming with a big bed. Yes, the bath was small, but I didn't need anything large and fancy. I didn't care about having a remote for the TV - I was there to step back into the past, not watch TV. I did not eat any of the food, so I can't say whether it was good or not. The pool could have stood some cleaning, but I just sat on the side and dangled my feet in the water. What made up for any drawbacks were the beautiful rolling hills all around and other breathtaking scenery. The house seems to be in a state of arrested deterioration, but by no means is it a dump. Nor was it pristine perfect. But it was just right for me.

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ASLBPGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

It's true that what looks lovely on the web is a little deceiving - Maple Hall is right next to a freeway and a busy highway. However, once you're in your room, the noise isn't a problem - although it is disappointing not to be able to relax outside. The real problem I had with Maple Hall is that it needs a deep cleaning!! Linens and carpets are OK - but good grief, the breakfast chairs are full of cobwebs, the bathroom door looked like it had never been cleaned and the front porch - the entry way! - hadn't been swept or mopped for weeks!! Maple Hall feels like it is on its last legs. Wouldn't recommend it (although the care taker was quite pleasant and helpful.)

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 5, 2005

My husband and I reserved a room for one night at Maple Hall expecting a "grand" country inn, instead we found a dilapidated and noisy old home with very little charm. The hotel is right off interstate 81 and route 11, so it was very noisy all day and night. There is not much at all to the rooms, other than that they are quite large. The televisions have no remote, no cable. The bathrooms are very cramped even for 2 people. The grounds were unkempt. At the time we stayed, the room had bugs in it. When we complained to the staff and asked to be transferred to one of the more modern buildings, they refused an upgrade (despite the fact that we were the only guests in the hotel that night!). Unwilling to pay any more money at the facility, we hastily left early. This hotel is appropriate for history buffs who only require something "historic." The size of the building is impressive, but that's about it. If you are looking for a cozy, pampered B&B feel, look elsewhere. We truly regret having stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
35 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2004

If you're looking for an old, southern rustic historic home to stay in, this is it. It's not a modern hotel, by any stretch, but it has that grand old (pre-civil war old) charm.

There is a more modern outbuiilding that might be more like what you'd expect from a higher-end chain, but we did not stay in that.

We stayed in the main house and had a massive room with an equally massive bed. The bathroom was tiny, but servicable. The staff was not really seen while we were there - but we had no needs.

We did have dinner there in the glass porch. It was absolutely delicious. It's not exactly modern service, but the waiter we had was extremely friendly and, as I said, the food was exceptional.

We would definately recommend a stay here, though it's not for those who love mini-bars and nintendo in your room.

Helpful?
14 Thank chazj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
5.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
179 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
6.3 mi away
502 South Main
502 South Main
#1 of 18 in Lexington
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hall Inn

Property: Maple Hall Inn
Address: 3111 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three historic guest residences sitting on a well manicured 7.5 acres with swimming pool, spring-fed pond, walking trails, and views of rolling Virginia countryside. Private bathrooms in every guest room. The Manor House c.1850 has 11 guest rooms with a gas fireplace, Egyptian cotton sheets, period antiques, and free WiFi. Modern conveniences in a museum! Flat screen televisions with ESPN and HBO in every room. The Guest House c.1820 has three guest rooms; 1 king and 2 queen rooms all with private bathrooms. The king room includes a living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and Keurig Coffee Bar. The Pond House has 4 large guest suites with living rooms, and bedroom with private bath. It also offers 2 King suites with sitting area and access to a shared lounge space with microwave, mini refrigerator, and coffee station. The Pond House offers a back porch veranda complete with seating and tables overlooking the pond, and walking trails. Restaurant 1850 is located on the first floor of the Mansion and offers a fine dining option on Friday and Saturday evenings, as well as, special events, private dinners, and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Maple Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hall Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing