We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem, yum......”
Review of The Red Hen

The Red Hen
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem, yum......”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous dinner at The Red Hen. Newly arrived Chef Matt and Becca delighted us with a wonderful culinary treat. Just sitting by the open kitchen and watching the plating detail was awesome. Our group of four tried so many offerings so we could taste it all. I wanted to lick the plate of the sweet potatoe pasta... The combination of sauces was divine. The veggie pot pie was beautiful to look at and even better to savor. The combination of gorgeous root vegetables, perfectly cooked was scrumptious. Just go and treat your taste buds, try the steak or the chicken too. And save room for some sweet treat, you won.t be disappointed. Our server Courtney was lovely, helpful, and accommodating our needs. Super job!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dpp1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    33
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, VA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Closed for renovation thru 5 Nov 2013”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in Lexington this past weekend....closed for renovation thru 5 Nov 2013 per sign on their door

Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggiante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The only good place to eat in Lexington as far as we could see. Wonderful,creative veggie oriented food and terrific service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcookep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Hill, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nephews graduation 6/2013”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

lol love this place, but you might want to make a reservation becasue it is very small and intimate. We were lucky to have walked in off the street and be seated. The service and food was excellant, the food challenges your taste buds(or it did ours,since we both love to cook) that you try to figure out what is in it for seasonings etc..we were right on the money and our server was very impressed we were able to determine them.lol I call it the red chicken..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Farm Fresh”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My first time at this restaurant. You have to look for it but its worth it. Very small but very enjoyable atmosphere. I had the pan fried chicken, leeks, and Yukon mashed potatoes. Even fried this chicken was so light and delicious. I finished off with a bourbon apple cake. While sitting there another guest had ordered the scallops. I think next time that will be my order.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RandyKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Hen also viewed

 

Been to The Red Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing