We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, United States
1 review
“Really nice hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

An old college friend and I met up in Lexington to catch up (being busy with work and families we rarely get to do that these days). The hotel was perfect! I felt it was a little pricey for a Hampton Inn, but it was worth it. It's in a great location - easy to walk to downtown shops and restaurants, and is very charming. We stayed in one of the non-historic double queen rooms with a balcony. The room was average size with a little fridge and really cute little balcony that over looked the courtyard and pool. The grounds are beautiful, and the hotel was modern and clean. The staff was really friendly and helpful, and the complementary breakfast was better than average. We sat out on the patio and enjoyed it on the morning we checked out. No complaints at all, in fact, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    240
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
395
284
55
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Others stay here on their visit to W&L, but you should consider this town and hotel as a nice break from the highway travel. Make it one of your destinations between long drives. Check the town website for music, events, restaurants and time at the drive-in if you can spare a few hours.

On our way to deliver our daughter to college down south, we decided to take a break in Lexington, VA (home of Washington & Lee U). Rather than take a roadside hotel, we opted to drive into Lexington and stay at this historic building. What a treat. The rooms are nice and refreshed, but are nothing different than you would find in any nicely updated Hampton, but the building itself is beautiful.

Of course Lexington is a beautiful historic town and if you are ever passing it you should stop for a quick visit, but staying at this hotel really draws you in to the history. The staff is extremely friendly, the grounds are beautiful and they are happy to just open up the breakfast area to the huge front porch where you can take your coffee or breakfast and just sit back and relax in time. It's worth the extra 5 minute drive off the highway so you can see a bit of history.

Don't miss this little gem.

Room Tip: I would stay in the rooms away from the main entrance. The suites upstairs in the main building are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I can't count the number of Hampton Inns I have stayed in over the past 20 years for work and pleasure, but this one is the best. Our family was on a vacation/college tour and spent a night in Lexington before visiting Washington & Lee. I actually drove by the property because I wasn't expecting an extravagant layout for the hotel.

The lobby and grounds are beautiful with buildings more than 100 years old. The morning food area feels like a bed & breakfast. The rooms were typical Hampton, clean, neat, etc. The town of Lexington is only a couple of minutes away. I was absolutely not expecting this type of property in a small, rural town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I loved being so close to the attractions of Lexington. It only took a couple of minutes to be at any location during our two day stay. The only reason for the 4 is our room was beside the entrance and I was woken several times during the night with it shutting. I would most definitely stay here again and just ask not to be in room 221(the room itself was fine, it was just the location.)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights here while in Lexington for an event at the VA Equine Center. The hotel is different from most Hampton Inns. The main lobby is an historical home remodeled for the hotel. Rooms are located in other buildings attached by a breeze way. The room was a typical Hampton style room, very clean, comfortable and well maintained. It is located less than a mile from downtown and 5 minutes from the VA Equine Center. We were in room 238, which was right beside the door leading to the parking lot. This made it a bit noisy as people came and went and if I stay here again will request a room away from this door. We were woken up several times as people came in and out. Otherwise it was a nice hotel and I highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stonecity57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Very pleased to find this hotel in historic Lexington on one days notice. Staff was attentive and responsive. Check in was a breeze. HI breakfasts are always good and this was even better because of the attractive surroundings. Rooms were quiet with microwave and mini fridge but sadly no makeup mirror.
If you are like us and need for your a/c fan to run continuously, this was the only negative. Next time we stay we will ask about that. Overall another great Hampton Inn experiencd.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Kristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The place was excellent and had acceptable complimentary breakfast...coffee a bit weak. my only problem was the bed cover -- nothing available between an overly heavy cover and just the sheet. And oddly, I must include at least 200 words to even submit the review....as you can tell, I'm just killing characters (get it---not trees, but bytes) I would stay here again and would likely make it my first choice. I did use another Hampton on my return in a different city... was pleased with that experience as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lexington
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Natural Bridge Historic Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TravelUp and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing