We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Charm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a charming hotel. You can stay in the old, original home (for a higher room rate), or in the newer portion of the hotel, which has lovely rooms as well. I had stayed in another Lexington hotel the night before and switched to the Hampton Inn for a change, and immediately noticed the obvious cleanliness and newness of the rooms and baths. Really comfortable in every way. I had access through a side door and was able to come and go without going through the front entrance - very convenient. The breakfast room was a short walk under an outdoor covered walkway which connects the old to the new building and protects from rain, etc. Very nice - I saw a lovely pool area, not yet open for the season. This hotel is by far the closest to the Washington and Lee, and VMI campuses, and right down the street from the downtown area. Very convenient! Also fills up first when there are events at the schools so book early!

Room Tip: If you want quaint and historic, book in the older portion of the manor. These rooms are a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mezzo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    180
    52
    16
    10
See reviews for
306
202
44
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited Lexington for one of our children to look at a prospective college there. Booking through Hilton Honors I found this hotel located in walking distance to town and not far from where our tour would begin. Upon arrival, I knew we were onto something special. The grounds are manicured to perfection. The welcome was warm and happy. I was treated as if they had been waiting just for me. Information about the town, food options, etc. was great as were individual descriptions of different restaurants. The room was immaculate, as were the hallways, parking lots and public areas. Breakfast the next morning was beyond the normal Hampton free offering, and was served in the historic home that is also the lobby. Plenty of friendly staff asking if everything was OK or if we wanted more of something. This hotel is about 2 miles off Interstate 81, but we heard no auto noise at all. If we have the opportunity we will return again and again! Thank you for showing what hospitality is all about!

Room Tip: Can't see that there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChincoteagueWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Hampton Inn in Lexington, VA is a fantastic place to stay. Character that you have to see for your self. Downtown is within walking distance. Friendly staff and the summer night on the porch are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bmoon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was a delightful find on the 64 corridor. After a long drive, it provided an elegant retreat in an absolutely sublime setting. Room was large, quiet, clean & in working order. Good restaurants are nearby & Lexington is a must see authentic, antique town. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Let them know what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryTraveler216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a very unique Hampton Inn, centered around an historic home. The service and accommodations are typical for Hampton Inn. Here, however, you have a beautiful historic home as part of the Inn. Very convenient to the Lexington downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank bruceh345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Lexington Col Alto is a wonderful and tasteful blend of modern accomodation with a Historical landmark - which is greatly appreciated. In an age where good manners and respect for customers is nearly lost in a culture where disrespect and ridiculous behavior are seemingly an endorsed norm - IT WAS GREAT to stay at a place where all the employees were kind and engaging during the execution of their tasks. regards, David E. Bryan

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICA97, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review! I agree with you. Sometimes it seems people forget the "Golden Rule"; "treat others as you would have them treat you". I love that we are a family owned and operated business and that we strive to treat our staff and guests to a family atmosphere of mutual respect.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again real soon!

Sincerely,

George Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The grounds and lobby area were beautiful. Room was clean and we had no issues. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again. We visited VMI and Boxerwood Gardens while in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boredlazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing