We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Hampton Inn in Lexington, VA is a fantastic place to stay. Character that you have to see for your self. Downtown is within walking distance. Friendly staff and the summer night on the porch are amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bmoon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 942 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was a delightful find on the 64 corridor. After a long drive, it provided an elegant retreat in an absolutely sublime setting. Room was large, quiet, clean & in working order. Good restaurants are nearby & Lexington is a must see authentic, antique town. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Let them know what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HistoryTraveler216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a very unique Hampton Inn, centered around an historic home. The service and accommodations are typical for Hampton Inn. Here, however, you have a beautiful historic home as part of the Inn. Very convenient to the Lexington downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank bruceh345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Lexington Col Alto is a wonderful and tasteful blend of modern accomodation with a Historical landmark - which is greatly appreciated. In an age where good manners and respect for customers is nearly lost in a culture where disrespect and ridiculous behavior are seemingly an endorsed norm - IT WAS GREAT to stay at a place where all the employees were kind and engaging during the execution of their tasks. regards, David E. Bryan

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICA97, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I agree with you. Sometimes it seems people forget the "Golden Rule"; "treat others as you would have them treat you". I love that we are a family owned and operated business and that we strive to treat our staff and guests to a family atmosphere of mutual respect.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again real soon!

Sincerely,

George Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The grounds and lobby area were beautiful. Room was clean and we had no issues. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again. We visited VMI and Boxerwood Gardens while in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boredlazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel has a beautiful entrance and the lobby. feels like a home. But thats about it! As soon as u come out to go to the rooms it feels like a Best western. Not impressed! Save the money and go to another 3 star hotel nearby which would cost half. The breakfast bar was not fully stocked and had to ask for items repeatedly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank SaRiAzAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICA97, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn for your lodging recently. We really appreciate your business. Thank you for noticing that this is an historical property. The main house is 187 years old this year and we are very proud to be the caretakers of this facility for the past 17 years. We strive to provide the very best lodging experience for all of our guests, but it appears that we have not done that in your case. Please accept my sincere apology. As we have already communicated with you, your room charge was removed. We hope that you will consider staying with Hampton Inn on your next trip.

Thank you again for staying with us in Lexington.

Sincerely,

George Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My family did a road trip to Natural Bridge, Virginia and decided to spend the evening in nearby Lexington. After a full day of driving and sightseeing, we arrived in at the hotel around 4PM. The hotel is part of an historic mansion called Col Alto and the lobby and public rooms have the look and feel of an antebellum home. Our checkin was smooth and we were in a double queen bed room facing the front courtyard. While we prefer 1BR suites when traveling with our kids, the room was very comfortable and had a nice balcony for looking out at the grounds and nearby town. We walked to dinner and strolled around the town and had a very pleasant evening.

Our only complaint is also a compliment. When we returned to the room around 9PM and began preparing for bedtime showers for ourselves and the kids, we discovered that the bathroom water would not get hot. When my wife called, the desk person was very sympathetic and explained that a maintenance person could be called, but it would mean making a repair late into the night, most likely. After a day of a four hour drive to Va and sightseeing, we obviously did not want a plumbing repair keeping us up into the evening, so we said we would make do. The front desk person ( or manager?) immediately offered to "take off" the charge for our stay. My wife thought she meant some sort of hotel fee, but she meant the full room charge. We were stunned. It was an amazing display of customer service and satisfaction and one I have not encountered from a hotel in years.

I don't know that we will be traveling to Lexington again anytime soon, but I would certainly recommend the Hampton Inn for family travel to the area. It was very convenient for our activities and the staff ( not just the desk clerks), but also the staff at the breakfast buffet were friendly and professional in every interaction.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
200 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
1.6 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $117 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, TravelUp and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing