We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Lexington, VA for a family funeral. The staff was exceptionally helpful and went above and beyond our expectations to assist with our needs - including picking up food platters. The facility was very nice. Then breakfast room was perfect with a fireplace. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. This is an extraordinary inn - like a large bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank JCVDCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    196
    54
    19
    10
See reviews for
335
231
49
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala, Guatemala
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was very satisfied with the location and the services provided. The complimentary breakfast was very delicious. I was there to visit SVU with my son and I recomend to other parents to stay here. Next morning only took a few minutes to reach the University.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

3rd time staying in this hotel. Great breakfast, friendly people. Just a short walk from Historic Lexington including Thomas Jackson's House, the Lee Chapel, VMI.

The Hotel has a historic mansion with several guest rooms upstairs and an attached hotel building where the majority of rooms are. There is also a historic log cabin and a coach house on site.

Great stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: There are two kind of rooms in this Hotel. There are several rooms upstairs in the historic mansion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very impressed with this hotel find, a bit off the highway but worth the drive. The renovated historic building for the lobby was a beautiful addition to the normally very good Hampton accommodations. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank BeachEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This Hampton Inn is located in a historic property and is an excellent choice. The staff is very accommodating, the rooms are comfortable, and the price is right. The location is an historic college town in the Shenandoah valley.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

A great old mansion that is delightful to the eye and offers all the amenities. The town is a delight and the college is an added plus. We had dinner in town recommended by the staff and it was excellent. Stay here if you are near Lexington, Va.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I changed plans for our anniversary weekend and were looking for a destination close to Washington DC ..yet less congested. Having lived in Lexington many years ago for a brief period, we chose the Manor House at the Hampton Inn. The room was large, comfortable and clean. A gas fireplace and lovely furnishings made it special. The breakfast was quite good as well. I would recommend this property. We had a king room...the VMI room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing