We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I changed plans for our anniversary weekend and were looking for a destination close to Washington DC ..yet less congested. Having lived in Lexington many years ago for a brief period, we chose the Manor House at the Hampton Inn. The room was large, comfortable and clean. A gas fireplace and lovely furnishings made it special. The breakfast was quite good as well. I would recommend this property. We had a king room...the VMI room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    177
    51
    15
    10
See reviews for
301
201
44
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was the second time at this wonderful, historic hotel, with the first being our initial discovery during a blizzard. The staff is friendly & breakfast is great. A little pricey, buy hotel has a lot of charm. The town offers quaint shops as well as VMI. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Chose this location primarily because we had a smoker in our party for a destination wedding. One of the few available smoking rooms in the town.
Room was comfy and clean with nice toiletries. Bed was great.
Staff was more than polite, helpful over the phone when I made reservations and then located a less expensive room in another call. Did mind that the hot water ran out in the second shower. Spoke with the maintenance super who happened to be in the office, but the second morning we ran out again!
Breakfast better than the usual and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the parking lot. Can be a little noisy. Very busy during VMI events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed in the historic house portion with tall ceilings, fireplace, king size bed. Rooms clean, furniture nice, spacious room. Staff friendly and helpful. Location central to Lexington - five minutes from everywhere. Felt as if staying at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The service was excellent and I had a very good stay. I love the historic nature of the hotel and the staff was very attentive. I also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast as there was something for everyone to enjoy. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Lexington.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eureka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. Very nice experience overall. Would be nice to come back during the summer and take advantage of the pool and just sit outside on the veranda and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank May G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decatur, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

wWe love staying at this lovely old plantation house! What a beautiful and peaceful setting! Lexington is an historic old town with charm and good restaurants - especially Micheal's French/American food!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#9 of 16 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing