We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Different and historic setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Different and historic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Definitely a different hotel -- clean, modern, and well-maintained rooms attached to a historic mansion once owned by a governor of VA. Offices, meeting rms, and breakfast in the historic home. Quiet and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. Good breakfast with multiple hot selections. Bathrooms had nice high sinks, and rooms had ample electrical outlets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    196
    54
    19
    10
See reviews for
335
232
49
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent one night here, on our way through to Charlottesville. I wish we'd had more time to enjoy this lovely hotel and the surroundings. We stayed in the manor house, in the VMI room. The room is HUGE, and is beautifully furnished with antiques as well as all modern conveniences. Our room had a fireplace but of course you can't use it during summer. The manor house has original wood floors, so the floor in our room was rather creaky but that adds to the charm of an old house. The bathroom was nicely remodeled and had a huge tub - so big that it needs two shower curtains to surround it. FYI there is no elevator in the manor house, so you have to carry your luggage up the stairs. They explained that if they put an elevator in the manor house, it would lose its historic register status. For breakfast, we simply had to walk downstairs, and there was a good variety of breakfast food selections - more than you usually get for a continental breakfast at similar hotels. The vending machine in the manor house did not have bottled water, but they had a water cooler where you could refill water bottles, or get water in a cup. The staff members were very friendly. The location was a bit hard to find - it's in an older part of town, but that too adds to the charm. We would definitely stay here again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a unique, historic Hampton. The main building is an historic plantation house. The rest of the hotel was added on and is typical Hampton. The main building and grounds are beautiful. The location is great--close enough to walk around downtown Lexington. I give it four starts for the above reasons. However, as mentioned, the breakfast was average. The bed was very firm. We stayed in a king room with a sofa bed and were only given 4 pillows total. When we requested an extra pillow, we were told they were all out. I know they were completely booked, but our room should have included complete bedding for the sofa bed. Running out of pillows, even when fully booked, seems a little odd, especially for the very high price we paid for the room that weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The setting of this hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the staff were all very nice. But the rooms are small, and breakfast is just okay. In addition, the walls are pretty thin, and we could hear our neighbor's television for a good part of the evening. This place definitely has ambiance, which is reflected in the high price of the rooms, but I'm not sure it's worth paying that premium to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved this historic 1825 inn and its history. The only downside was the breakfast was mediocre and the light from the hallway was annoying. The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself felt very homey.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 2010P1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Last minute change of plans found us at this historic governor's home/hotel. It is exquisite. The home is meticulously restored and this is where the delicious breakfast is served. An original log cabin sits next door. The ambiance, setting, food and details are,beyond reproach. It was certainly an unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Grounds are lovely. Room was very nice. It was roomier than most and very pretty with very comfortable beds and bedding.

I reserved a specific type of exterior door room online, and in the notes, asked for a quiet room on top floor. The front desk called me the day before to help me revise my room request (top floor rooms have interior doors.) The room location was VERY quiet. Kudos to the friendly and efficient front desk staff!

Nice hot breakfast with Nonfat yogurt (NEVER have seen this before!) and lots of options. The room was very spacious and had a lot of places to sit with a variety of seating possibilities. Breakfast staff was non-smiling and unapproachable - not what I expected after the very exceptional front desk staff. I am not going to rate the service based on the discrepancy here.

Note to other travelers: PLEASE do not blow your nose at the table (I am sorry for your runny nose but listening to you honk and blow continuously throughout my breakfast is disgusting; and particularly annoying since you have finished your breakfast and are leisurely reading and blowing for an extended time.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank THELUCKYCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing