We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms are normal Hampton rooms - pleasant, clean, well set up, nice but nothing unusual. But the building and the grounds are really wonderful. The central building is an old historic mansion, then there's a newer (but appropriate-looking) building with most of the rooms. There are a few rooms in the old house and I guess they may be unusual and amazing. It's surrounded by beautifully manicured gardens and rolling lawns (but with a sensible parking lot in the back). Short walk to good restaurants downtown -- except if they've dug up the main road, as they had when I was there -- then it's a more energetic walk. Would be a very short drive. Hotel is just a few miles from the interstate. Breakfast (in the old mansion) was standard Hampton fare (again, fine but nothing unusual), but of course in a beautiful old parlor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 962 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel, built around a local landmark, was a pleasant surprise. The staff were very responsive, professional and helpful. The location was beautiful and the accommodations were excellent! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank mdelekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fabulous, from the grounds to the rooms. But the stars of the weekend were the staff. We held our rehearsal dinner on their grounds and most of our guests stayed there. The staff was beyond helpful and accommodating. Clean fresh rooms, amazing staff............and a beautiful historic setting. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbustamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Col Alto Hampton Inn for my son's wedding. The staff, the historic building, the grounds were all exceptional. It was a perfect weekend in a lovely hotel. Without question, the nicest place to stay in Lexington with the nicest most helpful staff anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here 1 night and we were disappointed in the quality after finding spider webs and spiders in the room as well as a cricket on the floor dying. The room was a little musty smelling as well. After calling the front desk they did change our room but instead of 2 beds we got a room that had a pull out for our grandchild that was very uncomfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank roadking2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I always look forward to my stays at his hotel whenever I need to visit Lexington. It is a beautiful, historic inn with a great staff. I particularly enjoy breakfast on the front porch, overlooking the lawns. The experience never disappoints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't go to this hotel, the service is AWFUL! The staff is rude and has no idea what they're doing! I've been to other Hampton Inn's and they're great, but this one is down right terrible. I would not suggest going here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kelsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICA97, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Kelsey V:

Thank you for your comments. We value all of our guests' feedback and have reviewed your situation with my staff. Please accept my sincere apology for any misunderstandings about your reservation. Please feel free to contact me directly, if you have further questions or comments.

Sincerely,

George Moore
General Manager
Hampton Inn Col Alto
Lexington VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
1.6 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $116 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing