We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Lexington, VA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Lexington, VA”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good hotel. Great atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and great bedding ~ which of course you pay for ! Breakfast is so much nicer than the surrounding hotels, and always fresh. We have stayed there numerous times and are almost always happy with the service. When we have not been satisfied ( 1-2 times) , the management has apologized and offered compensation. This attitude is great and their willingness to make things better for their guests, is welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MarisaB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    232
    62
    21
    14
See reviews for
385
275
54
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel for an overnight on the way home from Tennessee. I saw what looked like romantic rooms with a fireplace, so we booked it. What a surprise to find out on arrival that the room (The Robert E Lee room) was a B&B. It was very romantic, the fireplace was great. Breakfast in the was cool - though we could have used a table! The waitress was kind and tracked down a table!
The lobby was vintage and the b-fast area was situated nicely in the historic home area.
The staff recommended a restaurant that was also great.
I wish we would could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefbill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We needed a room quickly and not too far off of route 81. When we pulled up we almost left without going in. It looked too expensive and we just needed a bed for the night. We went in anyway and the price was very reasonable. The room was spacious, comfortable and we felt as if we were in a very upscale hotel. It was an historic building and the additions to the original building were attractive and fit in beautifully. Breakfast was the best we have had at a Hampton Inn. This Hampton Inn had a different feel from any of the others we have stayed at. It was an unexpected surprise!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICA97, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ellie H,

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay with us at the Hampton Inn in Lexington VA. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your response was very enjoyable to read and we hope that you will make us a regular stop whenever you visit Lexington.

Sincerely,

George Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindale, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This facility is one of the most beautiful facilities we have stayed at that are motels. The ambiance is lovely, the staff are so friendly and helpful and the breakfast for a non B&B is great. This was our 2nd stay here and if we are ever in the area will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marsha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICA97, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Marsha A,

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay with us at the Hampton Inn in Lexington VA. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, even the second time. Your response was delightful and we hope that you will come again and again.

Sincerely,

George Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It is believed that my uncle, W & L, class of 1911, was the furnace keeper of this house in his undergrad years. The years have brought changes in the property, allowing its original hospitable use to better fit the 21st century. The additions are architecturally attractive and allow for quiet, easily accessible rooms and meeting facilities. It is a most comfortable, relaxing home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICA97, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mary H,

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay with us at the Hampton Inn in Lexington VA. It really is a pleasure to hear stories of connection with the history of Col Alto. Through the years I have heard many different ones. We hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

George Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This historic building, now a Hampton Inn, is lovely and worth the time to spend a night. It was a quiet and peaceful experience. Expect a good breakfast and enjoy a brief tour of the rooms inside the hotel. The architectural details makes one almost wish they lived in this period of our nation's history.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Friendly front desk. Clean and a good nights sleep. A little off the highway but worth the trip. This hotel is very different from the norm, the grounds are beautiful. Old colonial style fits right in with the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICA97, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Judy S:

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your great experience at the Hampton Inn in Lexington VA. We hope you will be able to stop by again soon to once again experience the rich history of the area.

Thanks again,

George Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lexington
167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
11.9 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
1.6 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Lexington
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing