We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Hampton”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

An old plantation home from the "War of Northern Agression" period is the base for the office, dining, and very special rooms. The additional rooms were added using "like" brick makes this a special property in a quaint little college town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    224
    61
    20
    13
See reviews for
375
260
53
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A lovely property..... I felt as though I had steped back into the 1800's, yet great elements of modern aminities. The room was beautifully furnished with everything needed to make my stay memorable. Complementry wine was served to my room. I had a gas fireplace and flat screen TV. Even had Terry cloth robes in closet! A great breakfast was served downstairs from 6-10am. The Manor House had the feel of a B&B without having a "sit-down breakfast" with the owners, which I'm not fond of doing. The breakfast room also was open to those other guests whose rooms were attached to the Manor House but more like Hampton Inn rooms. I really felt the Manor House was worth the extra money. The staff and managers were more than helpful and very friendly. A great place for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is special. The restored mansion, Col Alto, with the luxury rooms is an experience for those who stay there. Everything about it is perfect. Thiis hotel fits in perfectly with Lexington, a charming southern town in the Shenandoah Valley. The staff made it feeo more like a bed and breakfast, than a hotel. We were with good friends who were first time guests, and they loved it! We definiteoy will be back, and staying in the VMI room!

Room Tip: The rooms on the restored mansion, Col Alto, are something special. The VMI room, W&L room, S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jccamblos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way back North because we were looking for a change from the usual chain hotels and we liked this one a lot. The location is close to historic downtown Lexington, VA, the home of two colleges, VMI and Washington and Lee University. The town is charming with many shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Washington and Lee is a pretty campus with many good views of the Blue Ridge mountains. We really enjoyed stretching our legs and taking in the town after a day on the road.

We were on the second floor as far from the elevator as we could be so it was easiest to walk up the stairs to our room. We didn't mind but it would be an issue for anyone with mobility problems.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff friendly. An average free breakfast is included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator if you're on the second floor and have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Close to VMI and W&L. Walk to town. Very clean and comfortable. Walls are thin though. You can hear people talking when you walk down the halls. Breakfast was not much..lumpy powdered eggs...coffee was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanSOnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay overnight at this property for a conference the following day. Only positive remarks on the experience. Loved the warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in. Had a room with a patio overlooking the courtyard (a must for following visits!). The only negative comment was I had to checkout the following day. Thank you for a very enjoyable evening.

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_T24060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The loveliest Hampton I've ever stayed in, unusual in that it is a historic property. The evening desk attendant showed us an unoccupied room in the original home, which was gorgeous, but we chose a modern room, since we needed two beds (a "sister trip"). She also confirmed that the restaurant we had selected from TA reviews would be great. The following morning we walked around the beautiful grounds and looked at the old log house adjacent. All-in-all, a wonderful surprise on an arduous driving trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD-NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
11.9 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
1.6 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing