We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet and clean place for a restful night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingston Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Management was so very friendly and out of the way to be helpful in all questions that I had. Made our stay comfortable and restful after we had had a full active day. The rooms were clean and roomy. Since the motel is off the road it was very quiet. We were not far from "in town" so finding a place to eat (local eatery) was easy to get to. We will go back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlgowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 260 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

My partner and I taveled from Fort Wayne, Indiana to Lexington during May 2010 for the graduation of Washington & Lee University. We stayed 2 nights. The rooms with the double beds is perfect for travel and were very firm. Excellent sleeping. The view is very good with a view of all mountains and the sun coming up in the morning.
The hosts were there all the time for our needs. In regards to cost to value: The value is there and the hotel is most economical.
I would recommend going there to stay if you are on travel to Lexington or just passing through. In short-best value for your buck!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel 5 times over the last 10 years, most recently last week for a reunion at Washington and Lee. The staff is professional, courteous, welcoming, and above all, helpful. They quickly solved a reservation glitch created by the internet reservation system and ensured that I was satisfied with the details of my stay.

This hotel wasn't the "official" reunion hotel for my class, but it was much closer to all the weekend's activities and allowed us to quickly stop in and clean up or relax between the weekend's numerous activities. It is also about half the cost of the other national chains in Lexington and the various hotels near the intersection of Route 11 and I-64.

This hotel is about a mile from the parking garage (behind the Doremus Gym) for Washington and Lee University...it is also less than a mile from the W&L athletic fields and the whole back campus area including the Law School. You do not have to go through town, or across the Maury River bridge, to access the campus for college visits, athletic events, reunions, or graduations.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel with all the activities going on, but we found it to be simply furnished, clean, and easy to access. I parked 25 feet from my room door...loading and unloading was a snap. No elevators, stairs, or hallways. The room was cosy and quiet, it had a small fridge, and it had a small sitting area separate from the bedroom area. Yes, the hotel is older and the fixtures are somewhat dated, but it was clean and represents the best value and convenience in Lexington hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rentparty2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I would like to first start off by saying that I've stayed at a variety of hotels. Any where from from your 5 star to your 1 star hotels. I've even stayed at hotels in third world countries. This hotel was HORRIBLE! The moment you pull up, you'll notice that all of the rooms are entered from the outside. There is no interior of the hotel. Not a big deal. The hotel "lobby" is very small. It's about the size of an office. It worked for the space but it turns out that the "breakfast" is served here. The breakfast looked like stale donuts and burnt coffee. That was probably the highlight.

The Room:
We stayed in a non smoking King Size bed room. The smell made me take a step back the moment we walked in. It smelled of musty old food and mildew. We turned on the air in hopes that the air was just stale. Nope. The air conditioner made it worse! It was loud and smelled like it's filter has never been cleaned. The bed and bed room area was overall clean. The sink area was dirty but not horrible. The bathroom was small. The shower was stained with mildew. The wallpaper was peeling. Even the ceiling was cracking. The door also had stains and droplets of paint on it.

Would I ever stay here again? NO!
Would I ever recommend someone to stay here? NO!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmpBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Thought this place was scary. We were in the brick building behind the main building. Heard every door opening/closing, toilet flushing, shower running all night long. Decor was depressing. Lobby smelled so badly I couldn't believe that people ate breakfast in there. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dksd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We always stay at this motel on our yearly visits to the Lexington area. The location is a perfect base for exploring the many local attractions and the staff is warm and friendly. We would happily recommend this motel to our friends. The location is convienient to the Washington and Lee University,VMI, and downtown Lexington. The Natural Bridge State Park is close by also. With the Natural Bridge Zoo and Virginia Safari Park nearby, one could happily spend a week vacation or just a long week-end in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank REBELGYPSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I recommend this hotel without reservation.
- cleanliness: room and bathroom were spotless. bathroom was really sparkling. I think some previous reviewers have confused things being old and slightly worn with them being unkempt. not true. everytime i have stayed here this place has been sanitary and squared away.
-service: Anil has been at this a long time and this hotel is is family business. I had no problems on my stay, but he seems like the kind of guy that would go out of his was to make you happy if something is wrong. definitely more run like a B&B than a large chain hotel.
-location: I can't give it five stars because it's not right in town and thus not in walking distance to anything. (but remember you are paying a lot less than those places also). The plus side is that it is the single closest hotel to the W&L athetic fields, and is really the only hotel on the west side of town. Thus getting in and out of town on the very short 2 mi. drive is really easy. no stop lights, no traffic, no brainer.
-rooms: yes, as some reviewers have pointed out, they're getting a bit shabby. Well, maybe you live in one of these fancy new subdevelopments in big new 4,000 square foot house and are underwater in your mortgage too. Yeah, they're getting a bit aged, but there's absolutely nothing wrong with them. If you are hanging out in your hotel room in Lexington, there is something wrong with you, so get over it.
-sleep quality: very good construction of the hotel since it was built some time ago, and i have generally found it quieter internally than most other newly-built budget chains. However, as with any outside-door, ground floor hotels, you do get car doors and trucks slamming first thing in the morning when everyone gets moving. the mattresses probably need an upgrade sometime soon, but they aren't really any worse than the inexpensive brand new mattresses at brand new discount hotels.
-VALUE: there is no better hotel in Lexington in this category. Very clean, Very close to town, and convenient, and a manager that is willing to please. Oh, yeah, and free breakfast. So long as you don't demand to stay at a brand new shiny hotel, this place is great.

**NOTE: Pricing in Lexington varies wildly depending on horse center events, and University events at W&L and VMI. On these weekeds, this place might get bid up to $150 and night, but then again the Hampton Inn will be probably $225 a night on those weekends, so try to evaluate the pricing in context of the time you are visiting and current events. It is tough to stomach paying $175 a night at ANY days in, but at least you have a place to lay your head!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eridler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Lexington
97 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Inn & Suites

Address: 325 W Midland Trl, I-81 Exit 188 B, Lexington, VA 24450-4004 (Formerly Days Inn Lexington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range: $66 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston Inn & Suites 325 West Midland Trail Lexington VA 24450. Situated in Lexington, this hotel is within 2 mi of Washington and Lee University, Lee Chapel and Museum, and Stonewall Jackson House. Stonewall Jackson Memorial Cemetery and George C. Marshall Museum are also within 2 mi (3 km). No matter what your reason for staying at The Kingston Inn your comfort - Its our very special. The Kingston Inn & Suites(R) hotel is located in the heart of Lexington, less than a mile away from the Virginia Horse Center. You'll find plenty of other attractions and activities in the area, some of which include: Washington and Lee University Virginia Military Institute George C. Marshall Museum The Lime Kiln Theater is also nearby, and Lexington hotels provide easy access to a healthy number of restaurants throughout the region. When you're ready to settle in for the night, our spacious guest rooms feature TVs, hair dryers, coffee makers, desks, refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Dream better here at the Kingston Inn & Suites. This Lexington, VA hotel offers cozy guest rooms with all the amenities you expect. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingston Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing