We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's Really Not Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
Ranked #8 of 210 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We're creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It's Really Not Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've eaten at this place three times, while on trips to Virginia. It offers a wide range of choices and a good beverage selection. The atmosphere is fairly loud, but convivial, and the staff is friendly and courteous. The food quality ranges from not bad to yahoo!. I'd say it's above average, for a sports bar/fern bar sort of place. I had two fine meals out of three. That's above average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    93
    26
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good Deal for your Birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you sign up for their e-mail club, you'll receive an offer for your birthday that includes a complimentary entree and dessert. I made a reservation through OpenTable and let the hostess know when I arrived, but I guess they didn't process it as I later received an e-mail from OpenTable asking why I did not honor my reservation. The complimentary birthday certificate stated you had to make a reservation. We were promptly seated. Our server brought bread and oil for dipping and it was quite good. I had the fish and asked if I could substitute the onion strings for the French fries and was told it would be no problem. I believe the onion straws were plated quite some time before my fish as they were not hot at all. I had the raspberry sorbet for dessert and it was good. My friend had the pulled pork sandwich and there was no problem when she wanted a different side. She had the molten chocolate cake for dessert and it too was good, and decadent. The whole dining experience was just "ok", and would have been better had the food been served hot. Since my meal was free, I guess I shouldn't really complain, but I've never been overly impressed on the few visits I've had, so I won't be going out of my way to eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UOtterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We live nearby and have eaten here quite a few times and have always been happy with the food and service. It has outdoor seating on the street of a small shopping center and the inside is decorated in lively colors. Recently my husband and I both ordered the same entree and a few minutes later the waitress came to apologize and tell us that entree was not available. She explained why and then told us to order anything we wanted and our tab was "on the house." The manager also came to apologize and the waitress apologized again. We were not presented with a bill and we gave the waitress a generous tip. A couple of years ago we had a similar circumstance and again our entire tab was "on the house." There were 4 of us, including alcohol. Under this circumstance, most restaurants will offer a complimentary dessert or appetizer or a gift card for a future meal, but to pick up the tab is, in my opinion, quite classy! They have won my business and I'll bring friends!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for a glass of wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Made a quick stop for a glass of wine and some apps. Good wine list and reasonable prices made this worth a mention. Good apps as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Labor Day Monday - short on ingredients but still a good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner but they were out of their famous bread and the meatloaf. They did substitute pizza bread with some cheese which was pretty good. My husband did find something else on the menu that he liked but we'd gone specifically for the meatloaf so it was a disappointment. I tried the chicken enchiladas and they were very tasty. Our server was fairly good but we had to ask twice for silverware and one of the food runners said they'd get my husband a refill and they never returned. Just a few little things. We will return for the good food but not our best visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juleszee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing