We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant surprise!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
Reserve with OpenTable
Not Your Average Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 202 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We're creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pleasant surprise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently had diner and enjoyed it very much. The food very good and the service was also. I am gluten free and was pleasantly surprised that they even served gluten free bread with olive oil seasoned to perfection. I am not even a bread lover but must say it was a special treat. The food was fresh and portion size was also good. We are not from the area but would definatly go back. Great job and thanks for your consideration for gluten free choices. Well done !!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAB819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    89
    25
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Three of us went to NYAJ's for lunch. The bread and oil We had the meatloaf, enchalada, and jumbalaya. They were all very good and perfect for each person's taste. We agreed that the echalada was the winner - slightly different from the ususal dish in a Mexican restaurant, but really good. Our server was very personable and attentive.

If they would only put a real sign on the front it would make it much easier to find.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vettetraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mmmmm!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I live in the Leesburg ares so I frequent this restaurant. The food is an American cuisine with a flare. The combinations of spices with fresh meats and vegetables are out of this world. But my all time favorite...is the bread with OO, cheese and peppers. WoW!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ar0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Five family members enjoyed birthday dinner for my son. Everyone loved the bread before the meal. We all enjoyed our meals, but I think the surprise of the night was the "Not your average meat loaf." You got two nice little loaves on some mashed potatoes, topped with onion straws. both my son and daughter (adults) loved them and finished off everything. I ordered the Arnold Palmer iced tea. If you like the stuff in the bottles like arizona, this stuff may surprise you. It has a stronger unsweetened iced tea side. Total bill for 5 people with 4 sodas was about $90. We did have reservations. Place was crowded, but service was very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWO4Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not Your Average Joe's (NYAJ) has delicious and innovative cuisine. The core menu is varied and appeals to all ages and tastes. In addition, their seasonal menus offer fresh, seasonal, creative cuisine that never fails to please. What really makes NYAJ stand out is the attitude and the atmosphe at NYAJ. They go out of their way to make their customers feel special and at home in their establishment. We have eaten lunch and dinner frequently at NJAJ, and we have booked work luncheons for up to 15 people. The Management offers solutions and suggestions that have made these work luncheons a huge success. When you join NYAJ, they send you a coupon yearly for a free dinner and dessert on your birthday consisting of whatever you want on the menu. We celebrated our anniversary at NYAJ this week and the staff could not have been sweeter. Jeremy, our wonderful server brought us the most delicious chocolate lava cake with ice cream for dessert. Across the entire dinner plate, the words Happy Anniversary were written in chocolate sauce. NYAJ is NOT your average restaurant. It is a comfortable, friendly neighborhood restaurant that manages to excel at great food and atmosphere. Nothing average about that!

Helpful?
1 Thank MartiniandRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing