We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bustling place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Street Under

South Street Under
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bustling place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I really wanted to go to a teahouse. I was meeting my friend for my birthday. But Leesburg only has one teahouse that I know of, and my last visit there was very disappointing. So we met here. The bakery counter is full of great looking pastries, pies, and breads. There were mini-pecan pies sitting by the register. I had a Chai Latte and my friend ordered a Cappuccino. Both were delicious. The outside sitting area is quaint, but it was too cold, so we sat inside. Inside is nothing special -- just typical pressboard tables and chairs. They haven't put much time into decorating or making it feel homey, but they don't have to. People came in at a steady stream the whole 2 1/2 hours we were there. We got hungry for lunch and ordered the soup/sandwich deal. The price was right, as it is on most of their menu choices. The food was average...or maybe a little above.

If you want a place to grab a quick bit or a drink with a friend, the location is great, the atmosphere adequate, and the food a good value. Just don't expect leather chairs and fireplaces and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BMcPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food good but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very popular with the local "organic" crowd. Most of their food is basic comfort food with quality ingredients. Certainly NO complaints about that! Although I still go there occasionally, I still feel you pay for more than what you get. The do have some fairly decent "prepared" home meals if you're in a rush to grab something on the way home from a long day at work. Take it home, heat it up, and you're done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocketeer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super Good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Always always always a great meal and a good value. The people are great and the food is wonderful. When the weather permits, make sure you get an outside table. Great people watching place, too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had lunch on a quiet day at South Street Under. The bread was really fresh tasting -- I had the Spicy T-Bird sandwich. It was a different take on meat, cheese and lettuce because of the tomato chutney. Very tasty! It's too bad we don't live in the area - we'd definitely return. I loved sitting outside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyd0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
229 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great menu, fast service, and outdoor seating. Tucked away from the weather and fresh, fresh fresh ingredients. What's not to like?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Street Under also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to South Street Under? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing