We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China King Restaurant

China King Restaurant
5 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175
703 777 9831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 201 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I was Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

China King was recommended by a local merchant as a good place to eat. Tripadvisor reviews generally supported this recommendation. We weren't disappointed. This is a little hole in the wall with about a dozen tables and booths. We came in about 6PM and by 6:30 there wasn't a seat available. The decor looks dated with lots of black and white photos of Chinese scenes. But, I have only good things to say about the food. My wife ordered a Spring Roll ( 4 on a scale of 5) but it came out almost immediately. The fried dumplings were excellent. My wife's dinner was made to order to accommodate her taste. My selection, Triple Delight, was as good as any I have had. The bill, $36 including tax seemed exceptionally reasonable for what we had. The servers were polite, helpful and very knowledgable of the dinners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best of leesburg, by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although a bit pricey, food is top notch, best meat in a Chinese restaurant by miles. Altering your dish is never a problem, example...Kung pao beef, one of their best dishes, I order with no green onion, white onion instead, extra peanuts. Much better, green onions make it bitter, but the beef a baby could eat. Shrimp always good as well as chicken. Chicken chow mein is really good, cons is their combo fried rice, dark, too heavy, needs to be more like whitish in color, phone contact/delivery is the best, very nice women manning the phones, memory ladies, remember past orders down to every details, easy to understand. Delivery is very fast, guy who delivers is one of the best. $14.95 for Kung pao beef, but worth every penny, best I had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ndirish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local Food, Great Taste!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Anytime we're in Leesburg we consider China King's as our place to stop. Go for the taste of the food and the attentiveness of the staff. You will not be disappointed with either. Prices are good and the amount of food is enough to fill you up, or more. They can steam you food as well. A great restaurant choice even when you don't have a lot of time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Chinese in Leesburg!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very attentive service, great food and very popular with locals. There is the typical wide array of menu offerings plus they offer brown rice as a nice alternative to white rice. Hands down the best Chinese in the area!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but best Chinese Food in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The China King is not your typical Chinese place with the kitschy stuff on the walls and asian music in the background. It's an old historic part of Leesburg in a building that is several hundred years old...and shows it. But the food is great, the people are nice and the prices very reasonable. Their Chinese food is better than anyplace else around. If you can't park in front on the street, go around back to the public parking garage.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China King Restaurant also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to China King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing