We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Lousy Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscarora Mill

Tuscarora Mill
203 Harrison St. SE, Leesburg, VA 20175
703-771-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuscarora Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 192 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Loudoun & Harrison
Transit: Loudoun Transit stops at Harrison & Loudoun
washington dc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lousy Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food was terrific - excellent entrees, salads, desserts - but the service was painful - had to ask several times for coffee, got the wrong dessert, waiter was no where to be found for much of the evening -- I would go back again if we got a different server

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ray j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch in a wonderful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

part of restaurant is got some of the old mill machinery, so its an interesting setting. Our lunch was very good. Wife had shrimp and grits (outstanding) and I had a Bar-b-que plate with mix of meat. Service was very good and they have a very good bar, had a good local draft dark beer. Their ciabatta bread was delicious. Be sure and go downstairs to their bakery and get a toffee brownie, it is rich but oh so good. A little bit higher in price than I am used to but that whole area tends to run a little higher.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasGunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, slightly pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went here on a Saturday night and found the place quite busy. Thankfully the ambiance didn't suffer from it. The drinks we had, strawberry-basil-ginger mojitos, were excellent and I highly recommend them. The food was also very good include the homemade ciabatta bread they serve with the meal. The service was attentive although at time a bit pushy(I got asked several times if we wanted wine, even after we were done).
My only critique would be it was a bit pricey for what we ate. Even though the food was very good the price wasn't quite equal to the value. But overall we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Something a little bit different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A small group of friends were looking for something different and we found it in the Tuscarora Mill.
Three of us had the turkey BLT on ciabatta, it was very good, served with good French fries. The portion was just right. The fourth person had the veggie burger which she said was also good. We had a reservation for noon and we were seated promptly, The service was good and the staff courteous. The restaurant has two types of areas: one is bright and cheery with plenty of light; the other is darker in the old mill setting. The price for both sandwiches were about $10-11; however, with beverage, tax and tip it came to $18/per person.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Photoshoot49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very nice place to eat. Portions are great- not too much food if you know what I mean. Prices reasonable. Eggs O'Benedict and Shrimp and grits were really good. Asian salad, pastrami, and burgers tried with success. Kids mac ans cheese was just right. Service was good, water glasses refilled and bill was fair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeBee65109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscarora Mill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tuscarora Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing