We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and good food. An old standby delivers again”
Review of Tuscarora Mill

Tuscarora Mill
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuscarora Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 218 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Loudoun & Harrison
Transit: Loudoun Transit stops at Harrison & Loudoun
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,287 reviews
607 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food. An old standby delivers again”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed lunch here two days ago while touring Leesburg, Va and the nearby Leesburgh Premium Outlet Mall. The food was delicious and the service was perfect. We have been here probably 5-6 times over the years and the restaurant alway pleases the palate with good food! Sad to say that the shopping district in historic Leesburg has continued to slip downward. There was a time when this was a real destination with antique shops, great restaurants, and unique trendy gifts. Not as true today. The Tuscacora Mill has successfully maintained its position. The restaurants in historic Leesburg don't seem to have kept in step and look yesteryear with little eye appeal. The clothing and antique shops are pretty boring. The Leesburg Outlet Mall, however, was really busy with robust buying. The mall has many well known shops, including Columbia Sports, Nautica, Polo, Saks, Chicos and many others.
Like most outlet malls, these stores do not carry the first line merchandise that the stores do in large shopping malls. But a few do including Columbia Sports. Still this is a bustling and vibrant shopping area. Again, when in Leesburg, the best outing is lunch or dinner at the Tuscarora Mill !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    178
    67
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty Quality - Will Go Back”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let me start with the fresh bread, it's addictive. A nice Caesar salad complimented a very good sesame crusted salmon with Asian vegetables. I'll return soon for an encore!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigator556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tuscarora Mill ("Tuskie's" to its many regulars) has turned out consistently high-quality dishes, with an imaginative and diversified menu. Local favorites, such as corn chowder, grilled chicken with home-made pasta, and lamb-burger, have been there for decades, but there are always fresh fusion ideas as well. Service is attentive and professional. This is far-and-away the most enjoyable dining experience in Leesburg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jjseideljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A less than pleasant experience.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Did not see a dress code, so we went in wearing golf/casual shirts and shorts/capris. We were promptly shuttled to a side room and forgotten about. A brief conversation with individual at desk at entrance to dining room did lead to a server finding us. We placed our lunch order and received our food in a reasonable time. I understood that the restaurant served smoked food and barbecue, but did not expect my pastrami sandwich to only taste like smoke. Having lived abroad, I am not a fan of "boutique" brews which was all that the restaurant served. Bar staff had a problem understanding that someone might not appreciate their limited selection of beer. Past experiences in better, and even lesser, restaurants involved staff much more interested in providing excellent service and menus with a much wider selection of drinks and food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daveinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OVERRATED”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unfriendly bald old men as hosts. First strike. The waitress looked like she just woke up from a nap. We experienced extremely slow service from start to finish. Actually, the waitress was really quick in grabbing our payment at the end, but that's about the fastest we saw her move the entire night. Food was mediocre. I could have cooked a better steak at home. The full rack of lamb was only 4 ribs of meat. The sides were clearly prepped way ahead of time and the cheese on the potato was crusty and tasted like cafeteria food. I'm not sure what all the rave is about. Oh, and it's way over priced. Never going back again. Try Lightfoot or Vintage 50 for better service and food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscarora Mill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tuscarora Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing