We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lightfoot

Lightfoot
Reserve with OpenTable
Lightfoot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 213 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Street
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 Stars!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

5 Stars to the crew at Lightfoot tonight! We made a reservation for 4PM and were 21 minutes late but they still found a cozy, private spot for us to have our Valentine's Day dinner. The meal was fantastic also and the drinks were plentiful.

As you might imagine, we will be back to visit many times. Thank you very much.
Mark & Beth Anton

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    128
    43
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Memories”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Memories of this restaurant start four years ago. Then, it was wonderful, a real treasure. Gracious dining in a historic old bank (of all things!), food from local sources, and attentive and courteous service.
Today, after three recent visits, I must sigh and comment that Lightfoot's seems to have gone the way of most dining establishments.
The last visit, I ordered their special, local veal, (no cost was mentioned and it was $45.00) that was way too salty, polenta that tasted tinny, and their premier dessert, "Sticky Toffee Pudding," that was DRIED OUT! Seemed over-microwaved.
When the waiter asked about it, I answered that it was "a bit dry." We did not eat more than a forkful, the water noticed, said he'd say something to the kitchen but didn't take it off the check. In former years, had a major flaw like this be revealed, the server would have been more gracious. However, this seems like the times of today. My husband had grits and ham biscuits as well and they were fine, but jeese, this is so traditional Virginia food...it had BETTER be decent. Our check came to about $100.00 easily, without alcohol, and so this restaurant is now on our "pending" list. Used to be such a treat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunsup605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All looks no brains!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place looks terrific and that is where it stops. The food is very mediocre and the price for the quality is ridiculous! Been there twice to give them the benefit of the doubt. Never again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrymcenaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“over priced cold to warm food at your table”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Poor service, food was cold to luke warm, poorly executed dishes. Too much BS by the staff. Owner is clueless.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good till the last bite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had a great impromptu bar side dinner on Friday night with my partner. I'm never disappointed when I walk through the doors, the fireplace was roaring, had lovely soft music playing and the ambience is always spot on. I've only ever come in for drinks before, so this s my first opportunity to review the food. DELICIOUS!!!!! My English husband ordered the fish and chips and they were about as authentic as a British fish and chip platter come. The cod was thick and flakey and the batter was crisp (nothing worse than soggy batter)....I ordered a flank steak salad, and the flavours just popped.....the blue cheese, and walnuts combined with the fine fried onions were to die for (I didn't want to share) The steak was cooked exactly how I asked, so tender, it melted in my mouth. They had over a dozen mouth watering deserts on the menu, but sadly no cheesecake, but our waiter said not to worry......I spotted few pieces left from a private party, so we were truly accommodated. Had such a special night out.....can't wait till next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kittystu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lightfoot also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Lightfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing