We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Jamaican eats” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountain Cafe

Blue Mountain Cafe
Ranked #24 of 211 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Jamaican eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Limited menu with solid Jamaican staples. The jerk spicing was warm/hot while the curry was tasty with no spice. This is good for those not wanting the heat but wanting flavor. The jerk chicken spring rolls were delicious. We could have made a meal out of those...they were amazing! Sides are: veggies, plantains, rice & beans or white rice. All of it was good. TRY THE RUM CAKE!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Imzpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great locations, Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had dinner here and food was really good. The jerk is the not the grilled jerk that I was expecting, it was more of a stewed jerk, but absolutely delicious and falling off the bone. my sides were the sweet plantain, and rice and peas. Very good indeed. This restaurant is in historic Leesburg and well situated. Inside is very cute and homey. Very very good food indeed and a must have. Service was very very good indeed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Jamaican food created and served by the nicest people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I'll start by saying that I love this place. It's small, sure. The ambiance is that of a diner almost. But I don't do for a fine dining experience. What I go to Blue Mountain to experience is an hour of Jamaica time, great, great authentic Jamaican food and the service.

It's ok that the only Jamaican beer they serve is Red Stripe. Why you really want to visit is to experience the food. Everything from the oxtail to the jerk chicken to the curry goat to the ackee (fish) is marvelous.

Herman, the owner, and his wife Alyshia are perfect hosts and two of the friendliest people I've met. They will help you make your selection if you're unsure. They'll chat about anything if they have time and you're up for it. Just great people.

The patio out back is shared with Windy City Red Hots but is still a nice place to relax. But, in the heart on downtown Leesburg, it's a great place to let your hair down, enjoy something different, imagine yourself on an island and relax a while with friends old and new.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkybrunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jerk Chicken and Red Stripe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Home place wit very good jerk chicken. Have the beer, the wine may have been open for a month and they don't seem to get that aged wine doesn't mean open a long time. For what it is, this solid Jamacian place, nothing fancy. Can be a little warm on a hot day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Careful2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Caribbean Food, ok price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great jerk chicken and Caribbean dishes, average price. I work in Leesburg (contract mostly in Herndon though) and don't have a lot of money, but when I'm in Leesburg I occasionally eat here. Don't have a lot of staff (2-3 people max) so service isn't the quickest, but for a sit down it's decent (went with 3 coworkers once, place was empty besides us, was in and out in a hour). Great place to go if you want to here Bob Marley or reggie music with lunch. Got a TV in the one corner of the wall so you can watch sports, news, whatever too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountain Cafe also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Blue Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing