We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Welcome Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zephaniah Farm Vineyard

Zephaniah Farm Vineyard
19381 Dunlop Mill Road, Leesburg, VA 20175
(703) 431-2016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 76 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
Thurmont, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited Zephaniah Farm Vineyard for the first time today with family. You are truly made to feel at home because the tasting room is the owners home. It was the first time we have ever enjoyed a tasting sitting down. We were seated at the dinner table in the families dining room and attended to by not only excellent staff but also the owners themselves and there family. Beautiful old home [circa 1830] and grounds. Excellent wines... take your wine outside and enjoy it under the large old trees. Don't miss the opportunity to try something different.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything about our experience was amazing. Starting with our initial call to make a reservation... Bill (the owner) was so nice and accommodating, we felt welcome already. When we arrived, we were seated in the library of the house the owner grew up in as a child, he told us stories about his family, history of the area, the land, etc. We were all wowed and we hadn't even tried the wine yet. There were 7 of us who have all done numerous wine tastings over the years and not one of us had ever been to a better vineyard and had more enjoyable wines. Every single bottle we tried was incredible. It was very apparent the time and attention that is spent on each bottle at this small batch production vineyard. Their attention to detail and love for what they do shows through. This is our new favorite place! Zephaniah is truly amazing, as are all the people there. Thanks Bill for an AMAZING day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice wine tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a great time tasting the delicious wines at Zephaniah. Tastings are sit-down style with other tasters. Had a great time discussing wines and wineries with staff and tasters alike. I would definitely visit here again. I would love to see the gardens in the spring time when the flowers are blooming. Tasting fee of $5 per person. Moderately priced wines. Two whites, one rose, and 4 reds (including two Chambourcin).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“If you can only go to one winery in Loudoun County, this is it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Friends brought us here the first time we were wine tasting in Virginia and we fell in love. The wine, the atmosphere, the people, the property are all so inviting and wonderful. It is very much off the beaten path, and not boldly advertised, but it is absolutely worth the visit. The wines are delicious, delightful, well crafted, and only sold in their tasting room.

Bill and Bonnie and their family truly pour their hearts into their wines and the results have us coming back time and time again. You taste the wine in the cozy comfort of the old family home. You are told a bit about the wine but you are not told what you should be tasting or what you should be feeling. The Hatches have none of the pretension or snobbery that sometimes dominates at other wineries. While there are many, many wineries in Loudoun County, this is the one must-visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmers U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our first visit to Zephaniah. We were pleasantly surprised. The tasting room is in the family home which dates back to 1830. We were greeted at the door by Bill, one of the owners and given a history of the family and home. Zephaniah is named after Bill's great grandfather. We were taken to a dining/sitting room with a nice fire going in the fireplace. We sat by the fire while tasting their wonderful wines. We loved each one. Bill explained each wine we tasted. It was a unique and wonderful experience. There is a $5.00 tasting fee. Wine prices by the bottle are $22.00 - $27.00. We look forward to going back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zephaniah Farm Vineyard also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Zephaniah Farm Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing