We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awful. Rooms unclean, unsanitary (reeked of cigarette smoke). Unprofessional staff.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful. Rooms unclean, unsanitary (reeked of cigarette smoke). Unprofessional staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was checked into a room that was unclean, smelled foul(including reeking of cigarette smoke even though it was a nonsmoking room). After complaining to the staff, the unprofessional front desk clerk refused to provide any assistance, became defensive, and blamed the customer. Thereafter the room was never cleaned during the two night stay. No alternative accommodations were provided even though promised. The entire hotel is below par and inconsistent with the image I am sure Hilton wants to present with this brand. I will never stay at this hotel again and will be reluctant to stay at another Hilton hotel unless I receive assurance that my experience is atypical and appropriate steps are taken to address this truly awful experience. I am traveling with a four year old, which made the whole experience especially harrowing. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt U, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. But I do appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. Second, I would like to apologize for the condition of the room. I understand the freshness of the room and the manner in which this situation was addressed were of concern. Finally, I do appreciate you bringing this to my attention and will be sure that both of these issues are resolved with our housekeeping and front desk staff. Situations such as this are not typical of our hotel and we would love to show you our improvements should you return to the area again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    143
    73
    43
    19
See reviews for
160
101
27
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night only this week because we were flying out of Dulles but planned to do a good bit of shopping at Leesburg Corner. We drove from Pgh, PA to VA and were a bit tired, we arrived about 5pm,the desk clerk (Chelsea) was unbelievably welcoming at check-in. It took her all of about a minute to hand me our keys and tell us where our room was, then she smiled the most welcoming smile and said "we have a manager's reception starting at 5:30 and would love for you to join us". It was the most sincere invitation I have heard in longest time. We got cleaned up and went down for a quick snack before we headed out shopping.Clark and Matt were hosting the reception, it was unbelievable, I wish I had my camera so I could post a picture of these two smiling, greeting and serving guests. We had just missed Kate who we heard was also exceptional. We decided to sit on the patio, thats when I was able to chat with Clark and ask him who the employees were that were on duty. These people were hosting guests as if they were friends visiting their home, had we not had shopping to do we would have stayed longer! In the morning at breakfast the attendant was also very welcoming as was a gentleman that was outside taking care of the lot. This entire team treated us like we were old friends, it was just fantastic. The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable, its a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My daughter booked some rooms for her wedding months in advance. Inadvertently marked for Friday and Saturday but only needed them for Saturday. Her mistake. The rooms were cancelled since no one came Friday. I called on Saturday and was lucky enough to get 4 more rooms for wedding party. At that time I verified the shuttle pick up for the entire wedding party after the reception for 11:00 pm sharp to take them back to hotel. No shuttle arrived. Called hotel, no answer. Finally got thru, she said sorry, no shuttle available. I pleaded, and she said she would call back. We were now on the clock for overtime charges from the venue. Family members were panicked, calling, kept getting hung up on. We found a driver around midnight to come get them. Regional mgr calls me back at 12:06 am. She got me a bus..told her to forget it. Wedding party eventually got back to the hotel after 1:30 am. Groom left his cell phone charger in the room. He went back and the girl at the counter said sorry, oh well, not there and too bad for you. Spoke to another wedding party from the hotel that said their shuttle didn't show up either. hmm

Room Tip: Don't order a shuttle and don't leave anything behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOB922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark H, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We are sorry to hear about the distress that you and your guests endured this past weekend. We are glad that your guests did return from the wedding reception safely, and we apologize for any miscommunication. With that being said congratulations on your daughter’s marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I guess I am a hotel snob. I travel alot. I either stay at Hilton's or Kimpton's depending on location of bars and restaurants and sometimes it comes down to price. I drove in from the Hotel Monaco in Alexandria to the Hilton Suites in Leesburg. I think next time I will stay at the more modern hotel on the same property - called Hilton Homewood Suites. The Hampton Inn Suites has an outdated bathroom from the 1980s as well as the Amana thermostate that has not yet been digitized. The air conditioner is a bit noisy and actually I think the bed is kind of hard too. I think I would have stayed 2 nights if the hotel was in better shape but I am checking out tomorrow. The people are nice and the hotel is clean. It has a nice LG Flat Screen and a large updated common area that will probably host breakfast in the am. It's a little below average for my taste but it might be fine for others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark H, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We always appreciate consumer feedback, so thank you for taking to post a review. We do take our guests' compliments and criticisms seriously. While the Homewood Suites, located directly in front of us is a stellar hotel (the newest in Leesburg), we are in the process of remodeling. Should you return to Leesburg in 2013, I encourage you to stop by the hotel. Among other refurbishments, our new "Perfect Mix" will be installed; and provide us with a fresh and more modern appeal. By the way, we appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton branded hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent four nights here over the Labor Day weekend. Very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very satisfactory despite the large groups that sat at tables socializing for longer than was fair to everyone else. I'm sure this is not a normal occurrence!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlLuvr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark H, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for visiting our hotel and providing your positive feedback on our property. our fantastic housekeeping and maintenance departments keeps our property in great shape. In the coming months, we will remodel our lobby and provide more seating. Should you return, we hope to WOW you! Again, thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a nice stay while visiting family in Leesburg. Hotel was clean and modern, nicely appointed and decorated. Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and were anxious to help. Standard Hampton Inn amenities. Would definitely stay here again as it is in a great geographic spot for where we need to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark H, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are always glad to hear that our guests had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Thank you for pointing out that our staff was friendly and "anxious to help". Leesburg is a vibrant and diverse place, and we always strive to help our guests get the most out of their experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. It is located near the highway, but I never heard any noise. The room and free breakfast were what you would expect from a Hampton Inn. They were doing some renovations, wallpaper that sort of thing. But I never have any Issues.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark H, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to post such kind words online. We really do appreciate your effort to do so. And yes, we do have such a great staff here. It's a joy to work with them.

Come back and see us some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
Address: 117 Fort Evans Rd NE, Leesburg, VA 20176-4420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Leesburg Hotel Leesburg
Hampton Inn Leesburg
Leesburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing