We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Diggity!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windy City Red Hots

Windy City Red Hots
28 South King Street, Leesburg, VA
7036698606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 201 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hot Diggity!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Love this place! Having cabin fever and in need of a change of scenery, we took a drive to Leesburg. Not too familiar with the town, we knew we would have lunch. When we saw this cute little place and the novel idea of an authentic Chicago Red Hot, it was too good to pass up. This is a low key yet tastefuly done shop. The dogs are fantastic and priced just right!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2fromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hot dogs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I like this place because its a little different and its great to grab a dog and then go do something else but its not a destination place for me at all. I wish it had more to offer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great joint to grab a quick bite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A tasty "Chicago-style" dog...gotta love the bright green relish! There isn't much seating room so you might want to plan accordingly if you have small ones in tow or visit during non-peak hours.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christine q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich of the Year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were in historic Leesburg to poke around the shops and ran into a couple on the street who just had lunch at Windy City Red Hots. Although they live in Baltimore, they come here periodically for their Chicago-style sandwich fix. We took their recommendation (specifically for the italian beef sandwich, dipped) and popped inside. It's a a small cheery space with Chicago memorobilia, about 12 seats, with another dozen outside behind the restaurant. My italian sandwich bundle of love arrived wrapped in wax paper, and words do not do it justice. Shaved seasoned beef in a wonderful roll, perfectly sopped in au jus, but not to the point of falling apart. Best sandwich of the year, hands down. The staff were great and they had a nice selection of microbew beer to compliment the food. Leesburg will without a doubt be a regular destination. Soooo good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank misterduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Like being in Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Windy City makes FANTASTIC, authentic Italian beef sandwiches. Additionally, they serve polish sausage, italian sausage, and hot dogs made the right way (the Chicago way). If you go, make sure to get your beef wet with sweet peppers and provolone cheese: you won't be dissapointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ddjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windy City Red Hots also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Windy City Red Hots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing