We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sports Bar but the food is game!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ironwood Tavern - CLOSED

Ironwood Tavern
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 15
Description: The art of cooking with wood enhances the Ironwood Tavern"s experience with bold flavors simply not found with alternative cooking methods. Executive Chef Luis incorporates the seasonal offerings such as beef, pork, poultry, seafood and fresh produce from small local farms and purveyors for our cuisine. Craft beer is our focus and our passion. All of our 24 craft beers on draft reflect a personal vision. Our craft beer list is different, intriguing, and constantly evolving, like the world of craft beer itself. A menu that features styles from all over the world, but is predominantly American and local in focus. Our craft beer experts works with chef Luis to develop the menus, and that the pair sometimes start with the beer and work backwards to the food from there.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Sports Bar but the food is game!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We had steak salad prepared to perfection! Selection of draft beers good. Service not so snappy tonight.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish this was around when I still lived in Leesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Food and service quality are excellent here. A simple, yet fresh and exciting menu. A rustic smell of cooking on wood hits you when you enter the restaurant. Right before your eyes is their beer menu and bar at the center of the restaurant. I find their choices of beers to be suitable for all types of beer lovers.

When it comes to service, our family is always treated very well by both waiters/waitresses as well as the management. Definitely a must visit if you're looking for a great meal in Virginia at an affordable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good addition to the Leesburg dining scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Located in the WalMart shopping center this is a relatively new addition to the Leesburg dining scene. The menu offers many of the standards that you would expect at such a restaurant e.g. wings, sandwiches and very tasty ribs. However there are also some less common alternatives such as a Mediterranean Platter For Two, Flatbreads, and an absolutely delicious crad dip.

They have a fine selection of beers both local and international. Many are 'on tap' and they also have a good selection of bottled beers. Interestingly they offer a good dela on a 'flight' of beers giving you the chance to enjoy a small taste of a wider selection of beers.

Overall we were impressed by the food and the service and weill visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BritinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too new to give a bad review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The new Ironwood Tavern has been open for several months and I give them credit for creating a flavorful menu. The inside decor has not changed much since Buffalo Wings and Beer shut down. I have visited Ironwood on 5-6 occasions and find the place pretty much empty. The staff is friendly and I found the steaks, salads and wings to be pretty good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jpj028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gem of leesburg, 2nd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wow, had the ribeye as the sauce intrigued me, Myers rum and mustard, fantastic along with their smoky grilled asparagus , wife had filet, mushroom sauce. Wow, flavors unbelievable. 18 for ribeye, 20 for filet. A must try if your in leesburg.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ndirish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironwood Tavern also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing