We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very loud Sports Bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Velocity Five Sports Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Velocity Five Sports Restaurant & Bar
19286 Promenade Drive, Leesburg, VA 20176
571 333-4747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very loud Sports Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Tv's blaring so loud you can't the person next to you. Food was decent bar type food and prices were good. I would take the kids again bc they have kids meals at great prices that are close to adult portions. It was a Sunday and a game day but we went back again on a non game day and it was still super loud music. I just need to remember my excedrin before I go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VAfamilyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My favorite burger: sautéed mushrooms and onions. They make a delicious one. I've also had their crab cake sliders which are served with a Remoulade sauce. Another big plus is the staff. They have a way of making everyone feel special.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brewskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Come Thirsty, NOT Hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great bar atmosphere with a good mix of both younger and older crowd, clean, friendly service and relaxing environment -- but WAIT! The food is beyond gross ... so don't go or get hungry! I've visited several times thinking maybe it was a bad kitchen day, nope, just bad all around. Even basic fare is terrible -- we are talking gross slimy burgers, greasy, limp fries and just take that calamari starter off the menu ... battered rubber bands taste better than that! The location, the decor, the friendly staff and the fantastic bar COULD make this place a great hang-out if they'd just fix the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllAmerican4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
1 review
“This place has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have family in Virginia and I visit a few times a year. When I am in town, eating food and having a few drinks is always on the "to do" list. We make it a point to stop at Velocity Five and we are never disappointed. The only thing I think this place needs is a location in Pennsylvania!
I will see you guys again in a few months!
Adam

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdamHartwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bartender attire not appropriate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My family went to Velocity Five during a recent Capitals game. We thought it would be a fun place to watch the game as a family and get some wings etc. Most of the staff was dressed appropriately in festive attire for the game. Caps shirts and such. Some were dressed in shorts others pants. There were a few questionable wardrobe choices however.

There was one female bartender in particular though who made me and my family very uncomfortable with her sleazy and suggestive attire. Very tight black yoga pants; a red almost not there tank top cut up on the sides so you could see much of her skin. Very low cut in the front with a push up bra....yuck! It might have been OK if she had stayed behind the bar but she was also serving tables near the bar and frequently walking back and forth to the kitchen area. She seemed to be looking for attention. My son was embarrassed when she stopped by our table to say "Hi" and winked at him. He didn't know where to look. Her attire may be appropriate in some places that I would not take children.but not in a family restaurant in the burbs. We decided not to stay to watch the entire game. We had a drink and an appetizer and then left to watch the rest of the game at the nearby Green Turtle.

There were no drink or food specials during the Capitals game. Everything was a bit overpriced. I have been there for happy hour with friends before...appetizers during happy hour are well priced and so are drinks.

I would suggest that the management at Velocity Five consider a dress code and/or uniforms. I really don't like seeing someones armpits when they are serving food and beverage. Tank tops are rarely appropriate when serving food. Neither is sleazy attire.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank runningtravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velocity Five Sports Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing