We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bouillabaisse!”
Review of La Lou Bistro

La Lou Bistro
Ranked #30 of 218 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $10 - $38
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great bouillabaisse!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friend and I were looking for place to have lunch on a rainy Sunday and were reading the menu on the window when the owner came out and invited us to come in. He assured us that we would love the bouillabaisse. We came back about 45 minutes later after shopping and unfortunately the owner was gone. However, his sous chef/waiter was very nice and brought us a really fantastic lunch. We were a bit concerned that we were the only people in the restaurant and there was only one person working. However, the bouillabaisse was indeed terrific and the warm flatbread that came out with a homemade tapenade was equally delicious. The bistro salad, baklava, and coffee were also excellent. The prices were very reasonable. We paid $60 between the two of us and that included a dessert and coffee. This place is a very nice find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank minhnvu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    19
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommended, highly recommended!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

3 sisters for birthday lunch! Delicious, liked all the exotic choices. Moroccan, French....
Squid, tender, hot delicious . Gazpacho, very flavor filled
Moroccan chicken pillow, another salad niciose w fresh tuna another tomato basil mozzarella w capers and avocado
NO ROOM FOR DESSERT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toddif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Walking around Leesburg, looking for somewhere to eat. Owner of La Lou saw us reading menu posted on window and came outside to invite us in. Glad we did! Everything he recommended was delicious! Menu was extensive and varied--surprising for so small a place! Good wine list and great after dinner coffee. If lived in Leesburg, this would be our go-to place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Check Who Is Playing At The Tally Ho Theater”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Like other reviewers, the owner/chef enticed us into the restaurant by highlighting various items on the menu. Unfortunately, a tribute to Lynard Skinard was playing next door and soon sounded like it was in the restaurant... very loud. The food was okay but I thought overpriced ($30 for four lobster ravioli.) I doubt I will ever visit again as there are better options in Leesburg.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“European Flair”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Recently stumbled upon the La Lou Bistro. It was the middle of the week and we were taking the scenic route to the outlets. Walking the streets of Leesburg the bistro was present and the menu was enticing. We entered and were the only people there which was of concern but the owner met us, went over the specials and wine list in great detail and let us have a leisurely lunch. The menu is a mix of European and Mediterranean food and was quite extensive. The atmosphere felt like a Parisian bistro. The lobster ravioli was excellent and everything was first class. We can't wait to go back to have a nice dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srsuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lou Bistro also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to La Lou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing