We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place in an old house, authentic Cajun food”
Review of The Cajun Experience - CLOSED

The Cajun Experience
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Www.cajunexperience.biz
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun place in an old house, authentic Cajun food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

There was a DC branch that folded, but the Leesburg original was always better -- run by a lady who knows how to cook. They used to have entertainment at times, but check that because we've been in Florida for the winter. Good food for sure, and cheap.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank aareynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    42
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Cajun Restaurant Outside of Louisiana”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great food.. everything is spicy even the cajun mac&cheese. Kids was glad it was spicy because they were able to splurge on the lemonade and Fanta. Love the poboys. Good but not great french bread. Would recc to others and been there many times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tn0265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Cajun food”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not a formal, stuffy, white linen establishment, but REAL Cajun food prepared and served very well. Great appetizers, excellent crawfish etouffe, efficient, friendly service. Very small room, so recommend reservations. If you really like Cajun food, you'll love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronapark44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The CrawMac&Cheese, étouffée, fried catfish, fried crawfish tails, and jambalaya are delicious, written in descending order of awesomeness. Service was prompt and extremely friendly. The waitrons were expert in their suggestions of both food and wine. (I wish they wore name tags so I could compliment them by name!). The only "downer" is that the other patrons were very unfriendly -- it was downright wierd, given the close quarters and seating arrangement so very appropriate for Louisiana. Oh, well -- I guess you can't make customers get in the spirit, just sell them the food and hope they'll get it later. We will be back, and particularly plan to bring our Cajun transplant friend along. She will love it, and will get those other "NoVa" patrons communing in no time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“THE BUGS ARE COMING! LIVE CRAWFISH!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went to their outdoor patio for a real Cajun crawdaddy boil! It was OUTSTANDING! My wife and I couldn't stop eating them--and we didn't have to--ALL YOU CAN EAT! ($40) We "pinched the tail and sucked the head" of over 12 lbs of those critters! Brian, the owner, is doing some cool things there too like an "open carry" night (Wed).
Cold beers, great food, fun place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAVIDE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing