We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Casual venue hides excellent fare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cajun Experience

The Cajun Experience
Ranked #36 of 211 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: www.cajunexperience.biz
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Casual venue hides excellent fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Can't believe how fortunate we are to have chosen The Cajun Experience for lunch. Chris greeted us as we walked in, and answered our questions about how various dished were prepared. His confidence in the food was interesting until we tasted it. He had a reason to be confident! I enjoyed the Chicken and Sausage Gumbo while my husband ate every bit of the Crawfish Étouffée. We shared an order of Cafe du Monde Beignets for dessert. I highly recommend this restaurant. Overlook the casual atmosphere, choose this restaurant for the wonderfully authentic food and friendly service. Restaurant is child friendly too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LBrand22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    42
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Cajun food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is average to me. With a place like northern virginia, that lacks good places to eat (everything in Nova seems to be a chain), you'd think this place would be a home run! The food was decent, service was ok, nothing to write rave reviews about. the beignets were the best thing we had.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjgmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dingy but delicious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

If you can get past the dingy and dated interior (or just sit outside like we did), the food is pretty good! The hush puppies were huge and just right the way they should be: crispy outside, tender inside. There was a nice level of spice to the jambalaya (just one little shrimp in the whole serving though!) and the gumbo had some good heat to it too. The service is slow and the plates are all chipped, but overall, not too bad for NoVA.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamShalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True inspiration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Have always received great food. Don't go if you have a time constraint as the resteraunt is slow in serving but worth the wait in freshness and authentic tast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish it were closer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

If you like Cajun, or just want to try Cajun, this is the place for you. The food is consistently very good to great. We've tried most of the items on the menu and have enjoyed them all. Serving sizes are big. The only thing I'd change is the chairs. Not sure what it is, but they're really uncomfortable.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wrengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Cajun Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing