We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Neat theater, intimate setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tally Ho Theatre

Tally Ho Theatre
Ranked #23 of 77 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Neat theater, intimate setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Saw The Fixx here in August 2014. Neat intimate setting to see a band up close. Not a lot of seats on the ground level, so be prepared to stand or sitting in a cheap folding chair for the entire show. Overall, the place looks like it needs a little upgrade, but I still enjoyed being here. Walking distance to food and parking, safe neighborhood.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xylograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    4
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, VA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Leesburg Reincarnation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After having taken my now 30 year old daughter to the TallyHo years ago to see The Little Mermaid, I was looking forward to seeing how the transformation from a movie house to a live music venue had fared. The website had made the early ticket purchase very easy and in spite of the fact that the marquee had misspelled the performer's name, I still had high hopes for success
as I entered last night (again with my daughter). It is still a work in progress, but they do have the rudimentary elements in place. The venue is of decent size, the seating was a bit haphazard with some tables, folding chairs, standing tables, open space--the high ceilings make it appear quite roomy. The stage is of moderate size, but workable except there is no wing space which makes exiting/entering a bit awkward for the performers. The green room is at the top of a set of stairs on one side of the "auditorium" so R&R between sets is tough as well. Food and drink are available at reasonable prices. The staff is friendly, helpful and hardworking. The acoustics are above average, the lighting a bit overdone but "enthusiastic".
I think with a few more months of trial and error Leesburg might have a real winner here after years without any sort of art/music downtown venue. I look forward to a repeat performance soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beware Before You Go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

5 stars for the Marshall Tucker Band and their opening band, the Smallwood Brothers. A shame I can't say the same for this theater. I unknowingly paid $40 for a SRO ticket because THERE ARE NO SEATS! If sitting is your thing, well that would be $100. Everyone was complaining. They could have at least rented some folding chairs. Since I have a bad back and the girl next to me was in a cast, a very kind woman snagged two chairs from behind a stage curtain. This concert was a Christmas gift for my husband and he was happy in spite of standing for over four hours so that's what counts. We won't be back.

Helpful?
8 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For Loudoun Co, this is a Hot Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very few live music venues in Loudoun County and the Tally Ho is a much needed night spot.
Good size stage, full bar and ample seating plus plenty of room for dancing in front of stage. Saw Nocoda last night which is a Led Zeplin cover band, they were really good. The place attracted a real nice clientele. I will be checking the calendar often to see when I can go back. The Gin Blossoms are playing in Feb..... Grab dinner before the concert at Palio, Lightfoot, La Lou Bistro or the awesome Wine Kitchen and you have yourself a great evening planned.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChalkTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great idea, interior needs some work.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love the idea of a performing arts venue in downtown leesburg, but the interior and bar needs some work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 818travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tally Ho Theatre also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tally Ho Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing