We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat theater, intimate setting”
Review of Tally Ho Theatre

Tally Ho Theatre
Ranked #22 of 80 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Neat theater, intimate setting”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Saw The Fixx here in August 2014. Neat intimate setting to see a band up close. Not a lot of seats on the ground level, so be prepared to stand or sitting in a cheap folding chair for the entire show. Overall, the place looks like it needs a little upgrade, but I still enjoyed being here. Walking distance to food and parking, safe neighborhood.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank xylograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, VA
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Leesburg Reincarnation”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

After having taken my now 30 year old daughter to the TallyHo years ago to see The Little Mermaid, I was looking forward to seeing how the transformation from a movie house to a live music venue had fared. The website had made the early ticket purchase very easy and in spite of the fact that the marquee had misspelled the performer's name, I still had high hopes for success
as I entered last night (again with my daughter). It is still a work in progress, but they do have the rudimentary elements in place. The venue is of decent size, the seating was a bit haphazard with some tables, folding chairs, standing tables, open space--the high ceilings make it appear quite roomy. The stage is of moderate size, but workable except there is no wing space which makes exiting/entering a bit awkward for the performers. The green room is at the top of a set of stairs on one side of the "auditorium" so R&R between sets is tough as well. Food and drink are available at reasonable prices. The staff is friendly, helpful and hardworking. The acoustics are above average, the lighting a bit overdone but "enthusiastic".
I think with a few more months of trial and error Leesburg might have a real winner here after years without any sort of art/music downtown venue. I look forward to a repeat performance soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beware Before You Go!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

5 stars for the Marshall Tucker Band and their opening band, the Smallwood Brothers. A shame I can't say the same for this theater. I unknowingly paid $40 for a SRO ticket because THERE ARE NO SEATS! If sitting is your thing, well that would be $100. Everyone was complaining. They could have at least rented some folding chairs. Since I have a bad back and the girl next to me was in a cast, a very kind woman snagged two chairs from behind a stage curtain. This concert was a Christmas gift for my husband and he was happy in spite of standing for over four hours so that's what counts. We won't be back.

Helpful?
11 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“For Loudoun Co, this is a Hot Spot”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very few live music venues in Loudoun County and the Tally Ho is a much needed night spot.
Good size stage, full bar and ample seating plus plenty of room for dancing in front of stage. Saw Nocoda last night which is a Led Zeplin cover band, they were really good. The place attracted a real nice clientele. I will be checking the calendar often to see when I can go back. The Gin Blossoms are playing in Feb..... Grab dinner before the concert at Palio, Lightfoot, La Lou Bistro or the awesome Wine Kitchen and you have yourself a great evening planned.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ChalkTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great idea, interior needs some work.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I love the idea of a performing arts venue in downtown leesburg, but the interior and bar needs some work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 818travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tally Ho Theatre also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tally Ho Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing