We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Three Dollar Thursdays”
Review of Tally Ho Theatre

Tally Ho Theatre
Ranked #22 of 80 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Love Three Dollar Thursdays”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place is like a time travellers dream! I like the old fashion movie theatre. It has proper film and not in Dolby sound of digital...its like what you remember from your childhood. I also like that the screen is so high that it doesn't matter if someone 10 feet tall is sitting in front of you, it doesn't ruin your viewing pleasure. Also the seats are comfortable (but narrower) than main stream cimemas...We went to see a show the other night and my entire family can watch for less than the price of an adult ticket at the other cinema in Leesburg. Good atmosphere and everyone enjoyed themselves...the cinema was packed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kittystu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Needs to cleaned”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The thearter should have some charm,but is just run down and dirty.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler20482048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A thrifty alternative”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Tally Ho is a quaint little theater in the heart of downtown Leesburg. If you are looking for a deluxe experience with extra cushy seats, a pristine environment, and an absolutely silent crowd, this is not the place. But if you want an inexpensive local option, and don't mind a little color, (ie someone snoring the back seat, sticky floors, and the occasional sound glitch), then Three Dollar Thursdays are the way to go.

For locals who follow on Twitter or FB, there is always the opportunity for free midnight showings of select movies, always a treat!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TNTinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Outdated theater needs a total revamp horrible”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We went to the Valentine Day special...Casa Blanca, we knew the theater was old but didn't expect it to be dirty and to smell so bad from what smelled like the greasy ventilation of the restaurant next door. The grease smell was so bad I had to cover my nose with a scarf during the movie and we all had to air out our clothes afterwards. Also the theater advertised a wine tasting from a local winery and appetizers which consisted of wine for purchase and some appetizer trays from costco. The theater COULD be really cool but needs a DEEP CLEANING ...walls and flooring were dirty, ventilation needs a fix, luckily we couldn't see the seats that well. we would love to support a local theater with the history of Tally Ho.....but not till something changes with the items mentioned here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisalisa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A great escape from the crowded multiplex!”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I absolutely love this tiny little 2 screen theater! The prices are better, it feels more intimate, it's not as crowded and the teenagers who work there are polite and efficient. The theater is a little run down, yes. However, there are super-mega-fancy-schmancy theaters you can find if that's your persuasion all over this county. This little gem is just right if you don't need to have a full wine bar and gourmet roasted nuts when you watch your movie. I loved it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank romarosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tally Ho Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Tally Ho Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing