We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting Room has character”
Review of Casanel Vineyards

Casanel Vineyards
Ranked #12 of 80 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a small, family owned and operated boutique winery located in Loudoun County. We specialize in small lot and experimental craft wines grown in the Middleburg American Viticultural Area. All limos, buses, and hired cars (regardless of size)require reservations prior to entry on our property. All groups larger than 8 also require reservations prior to entry on our property. Outside food is no longer permitted in our indoor tasting room areas. Dogs are permitted in the designated outdoor spaces, but are to remain leashed at all times. We appreciate your understanding. We provide an adult atmosphere providing intimate and educational tastings. Vineyard and production tours are based on seasonal availability. Call our tasting room and or visit our website for our events, seasonal and holiday closings, and to schedule a visit!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Washington, dc
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasting Room has character”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

A group of ten of us braved a freakish October snowstorm on a tour bus driven by someone who had knee surgery the day before. The owners of the winery were welcoming and all were in costume dressed as pirates as Halloween was that week. the servers provided a history of the winery and though Im not a big fan of Virginia wine in general, Casanel had some good wines. The owners were hospitable and we had a nice time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shadmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I went to Casanel last weekend. It was a nice day and the vineyard was busy. The staff made it clear that they they needed to move us through quickly. The wine was't bad,but it wasn't great either. The experience didn't make me want to buy wine or come back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very commercial”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The pictures on the web site look quite inviting. Once arriving on the property, it was evident that it was very commercial. The wine did not appeal to anyone in my group of four. We were rushed and was a total waste of the tasting fee. I could have picked up bottles of wine from Trader Joes for the same amount of money and we would have enjoyed it more!

I have visited many wineries in Virginia and California...I have to say this is one that I will not recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VA0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Winery in Leesburg”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The wine at Casanel was above average. The service was excellent. The winery is in a beautiful setting and one can tell that the owners are passionate about the wine experience. They are expanding their facilities which is great but the construction took away a bit from the experience. I recommend the experience at least once.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank magicdisplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Wonderful winery.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited Casanel on a Monday afternoon and found it charming and inviting. You first view the sight of plenty of vines cascading down the property to a house and the winery facilities...worth a picture perfect photograph. The small wine tasting building is quaint and very nice inside. (A much larger one is under construction). Once inside, family members greet you. The lovely Katie did a top notch job of explaining the Casanel wines during our tasting and we truly enjoyed everything. We made our selections and perused the grounds after. If you plan to visit wineries in the Leesburg area you simply must put this one on your list. Good wine, good people, good time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanel Vineyards also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Casanel Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing