We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great girls lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palio of Leesburg

Palio of Leesburg
Reserve with OpenTable
Palio of Leesburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 211 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The award winning Palio Ristorante Italiano is a combination of three of the premier historic buildings in downtown Leesburg, Virginia. Palio provides Leesburg's newest venue for dining, entertaining, and banquet facilities. Palio has designed and built an establishment like no other in the Washington area, utilizing unique combinations of cherry wood, onyx, and antique mirrors and chandeliers. The design has been meticulously configured into the existing space in these historic buildings. The theme of the Palio derives from the ancient horse race -beautiful and bold, risky and exciting, a feast for the eyes as well as the senses. Good music, a fine wine selection, house made pasta and bread prepared on site, and sourcing from local producers, can only be described as a beautiful experience- all presented in an historic setting that would be as comfortable in Italy as it is in Loudoun County.
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great girls lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Enjoyed a great with the girls yesterday. Great service, great atmosphere and great food. The lasagna was very good. The steak salads were huge with a good sized piece of steak.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Food... but bring your patience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I brought the entire family for a post-Church brunch/lunch on a Sunday afternoon. The place was mildly busy, nothing extraordinary. We each had a different dish and every meal was superb. BUT it took 2 hours and 15 minutes to get the meal. One thing to note: unlike the menu's assertion, they do not use proscuitto in some of their dishes. They used what tasted like country ham (or VA ham). You can get away with that in the South, but not with a family of New Yorkers. When I questioned the waiter, he said they used speck instead of proscuitto. I like speck, and this wasn't speck (or the chef doesn't know how to use speck). Regardless, the food was great. Anyway, this place is not for little kids. Bring your patience and your wallet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“OK (but not great) food, grossly overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We returned to Leesburg to visit our old neighbors who decided that we should start our evening dining at Palio's. Our party of ten received a friendly greeting from the waitress who did a good job of describing the "specials" but did not mention prices. Shame on us for not asking!
My "special" stuffed pork chop was $32 and at that price, when asked if I'd like a side salad, I assumed wrongly that it would be included. It was another $8 for a Caesar salad that was nothing more than some pieces of romaine, shaved cheese and a weakly flavored dressing without any hint of anchovie paste.
My wife ordered the lobster ravioli which was priced in line with the rest of the menu at $25. However, again, her side salad was another $7 and then her food was delivered just warm enough to eat.
She also ordered a dessert, the Crema due Gusti, which was an assemblage of pudding and creme. Looked good but, about half way through it, my wife comments that it was "absolutely tasteless". At $10, clearly the chef was prouder of this dessert than my wife was!
I had a couple of draft beers and my wife just drank tap water. Our total bill including tip was just shy of $120 for what can be best described as a mediocre dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trainmodeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of being deliberately misled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Beware of being deliberately misled - we went there with friends for lunch and was presented with specials that we assumed would be in line with the other lunch prices - reasonable assumption. One plate was $32, the other $28. THE WAITER SHOULD HAVE MENTIONED THE PRICES.

Furthermore, we paid dinner prices for lunch portions. The $32 plate was for ravioli -- and maybe there were five small raviolis. The food was average quality.

The service was shockingly poor given the small crowd.

This is the second time we have been there -- not going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MakeReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“So much potential for so long; execution is abysmal.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

ANOTHER management team? We support local restaurants and we try and try and try to support Palios and Michael. This beautifully appointed restaurant needs continuity in management and service. With good management, service would follow. Great chef but all overshadowed by disorganized, amateur service. This is supposed to be fine dining. Both service and food have to be exceptional for that moniker. Hire some pros, tell them to smile and make friends with the community. Teach them and train the staff, then execute every day every hour like a fine dining restaurant must do to succeed. We are still trying, Michael but at some point enough will be enough.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devilinthedetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio of Leesburg also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Palio of Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing