We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palio of Leesburg

Palio of Leesburg
Reserve with OpenTable
Palio of Leesburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 213 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The award winning Palio Ristorante Italiano is a combination of three of the premier historic buildings in downtown Leesburg, Virginia. Palio provides Leesburg's newest venue for dining, entertaining, and banquet facilities. Palio has designed and built an establishment like no other in the Washington area, utilizing unique combinations of cherry wood, onyx, and antique mirrors and chandeliers. The design has been meticulously configured into the existing space in these historic buildings. The theme of the Palio derives from the ancient horse race -beautiful and bold, risky and exciting, a feast for the eyes as well as the senses. Good music, a fine wine selection, house made pasta and bread prepared on site, and sourcing from local producers, can only be described as a beautiful experience- all presented in an historic setting that would be as comfortable in Italy as it is in Loudoun County.
seven valleys, pa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stumbled across this restaurant when looking for something that would please the whole family. This did not disappoint! Food was fresh. The service was excellent. LOVED the mushroom ravioli!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank andi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The food was great and very authentic. The service not so. We waited over 30 minutes for our salads. While an excuse was given it was inadequate. The server was annoying in his effort to up sell wine and food choices. Once order was placed we were neglected. While I may go back it would be for the food not the rest of the experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frankr425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I went with my mother last Friday, and liked it so much I took my husband there the next day. The soup of the day (a tomato basil cream) was delicious and obviously just made. We also tried the burrata with heirloom tomatoes, calamari fritti, mushroom ravioli and one of the specials of the day, lobster ravioli. All were outstanding. The service was attentive. The waiter even brought me extra tomatoes (with no extra charge) to finish my burrata. One test of whether a restaurant cares about its food is the bread. Palio's serves three kinds of bread (rosemary breadsticks, foccaccia and baguette) with homemade olive paste. All three were delicious.

The prices were very reasonable. However, if you are price-sensitive, I recommend asking the price of the specials before ordering them. One of the specials was a lot more expensive than the other items on the menu. Not a big deal, and well worth it, but something to keep in mind if you are on a budget.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Calamari fritti made fresh, fresh made ravioli (mushroom was outstanding) - very good. Nice atmosphere, pleasant and professional service, attractive dining room.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The meals change with the seasons, and you can tell the the ingredients are fresh. The service is always good. It has a warm ambiance, so a great date night place. You can't go wrong with the wine list, nor the dessert.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rxbecca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio of Leesburg also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Palio of Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing