We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DEAL!”
Review of Fabbioli Cellars

Fabbioli Cellars
Ranked #5 of 80 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“GREAT DEAL!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Best deal!!! Wine and food pairing for $10 and Jim was very knowledgable. The environment is great for lunch or to purchase a bottle and enjoy the view.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugSLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    13
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic winery”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well worth a visit if you're in the area! I paired chocolate with wine and this was a wonderful experience. Definitely a nice stop while visiting Leesburg.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EricEmmysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
“Best of the Virginia Wineries”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We're members of several area wine clubs and this is the best of all of them and of the other area wineries we've tried. The Cab Franc is the best, as expected for a northern Virginia winery - the 2009 and 2010 Reserve are worth the cost for any special occasions. Nice variety of other reds they have experimented with - all respectable. They have started into the whites and their "Something White" Gewürztraminer is light and excellent. We have family members who love the fruit wines - yes, respectable fruit/dessert wines. The raspberry merlot is a favorite we send my mother in law (I like er and she deserves a nice treat like this). The pear wine, originally concocted from the one Asian pear tree on the property is another favorite for other family members.

Tasting is a treat here, especially if you get Dennis; I think he is related to Bacchus - knowledgeable, always spirited, and with some good stories about the wines. Fabbioli does it right - they've kept the business small and friendly, generous pours, and small thoughtful food partnering - see the photo. Good wines can be accentuated with a savory tidbit like the watermelon ball (Rosa Luna), goat cheese on a cracker (Something White), sharp cheddar wrapped in prosciutto (Chambourcin), mild Amish cheddar (Cab Franc), small piece of salami (Cab Franc Reserve), and then crackers with some of the others, dark chocolate with the Raspberry Merlot (I could learn to love this combination!). Periodically, Fabbioli does a vertical tasting (several years of the same blend of grapes) - those are interesting special events too.

This is the place for novices and regulars!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The wine is good the Chocolate is so much better.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I know the wine maker is famous, and the wine are mostly devine, but the chocolate! Heavens, the chocolate! Fabbioli's tasting was the most comprehensive, they pair wines with chocolate of artisan meats and cheeses. The guides are wonderful and very personable. We will be back, a it's an hour each way and we worth the trip,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wine and chocolate...”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Rustic setting with multiple tasting areas. Unlike the crowded room sized bar in some tasting rooms, Fabbioli Cellars has 'individual' seating for small groups (4-6 people), as well as a larger group station.

One unique feature of this tasting is that they include food pairings (chocolates or savories) in the $10 tasting fee.

The staff members were all very knowledgeable and helpful.

After our tasting, we enjoyed a bottle in a pair of Adirondack chairs out under a shade tree.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabbioli Cellars also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Fabbioli Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing