We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enjoyable short visit for young children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leesburg Animal Park

Leesburg Animal Park
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Enjoyable short visit for young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a nice place to go see a few animals up close and interact with friendly farm animals. They don't have exotic animals or big, impressive exhibits, but my 7/8 year old daughter enjoyed spending a couple of hours here. You can buy a good sized cup of food for a few dollars, and have fun feeding the sheep, goats and cattle by hand. The hayride, which is included, takes you down to see the zebras. The new welcome center is fantastic; huge improvement over the old facilities. I hope to see them grow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orlando36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    41
    18
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My granddaughters loved this park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The animals are welled cared for, lots for the kids to do, we brought a picnic lunch and made a day of it. Wiped the kids out, not only with fun but with learning. They had a blast on the pony rides..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dressagewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“More Play Area Than Zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I came here with my grandson and it had changed a lot since our last visit. The new indoor area really has five areas. The central area is where you enter, pay, and run the gauntlet of souvenir toys. To your right, you'll see an activity area for crafts and another room for parties. Left of the central area you'll find a large indoor play area that is twice the size of what you'll find at a Chick-fil-A or McDonald's. My grandson really liked the small trampoline area. The last area is more of a classroom display area. There are some animals that are housed just off this area. You'll also find that you can purchase drinks and ice cream in here, but that's it for food.
Outdoors you'll find more animals on your left, including a petting zoo. The bird area was locked, but you could see peacocks within. Further down you'll find the duck pond as well as another pond area and an area to gather for the wagon rides. In addition, there is a large wooden ship and bounce area good for large groups of kids. There were picnic tables galore along the shady area as you exit the building.
In reality, I thought that the Animal Park's new design was more conducive to large groups of kids. It'd be a good place for a birthday party because there was something for everyone. It's also a decent place to go on a rainy day because of the new indoor areas. There was a school camp visiting on the day that we were there.
The thing I liked the least about this place was the wagon ride. It was in a very confined area and was very short. There wasn't a lot of variety to the animals. They had several zebras, a few odd bovines, llamas, donkeys, and a camel that they didn't even stop to mention.
I'm sure I'll be back, but it will be the play areas rather than the animals that will have me return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VEC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a day with my Granddaughter!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Brought my grand daughter back after a year. What an improvement. The shack that served as the ticket office has been replaced by a nice air conditioned "visitor center". VIP ticket is best for the kids, food for the animals and a pony ride. The wagon ride is included with admission. Definitely best for younger kids, under 10.

The new indoor play and craft areas were a nice break on a hot day.Great

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice family friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

On a whim we visited here based on the reviews of others on Trip Advisor. Took our 11 yr old daughter and her friend. So glad we made the trip.
Although somewhat pricey to get in ($11.95 per adult/$9.95 per child) it is a very family friendly place. A great place to take small children, Tweens and teens probably would not be too interested.
Although small there are a decent amount of animals and it is very hands on, the kids get to feed a lot of the animals and get up close and personal.
Avoided taking kids on camel and pony rides...very quick loop and at an additional cost.
Staff were very friendly and answered all of our questions. A nice place to spend a couple of hours with the kids.
The wagon was nice but seemed awfully short (thankfully included in price of admission).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mdtinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leesburg Animal Park also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Leesburg Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing