We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Authentic South American Comfort Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Chocita Grill

La Chocita Grill
Ranked #38 of 210 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Peruvian, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Authentic South American Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just good, authentic South American food. Lots of locals from that part of the world must know. We order carry out often.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linden Hall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific all around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The restaurant is quaint but charming and the staff are terrific. The chickens are on a rotisserie and you can smell them a block away. The food is spiced just right and you'll go back again and again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrymcenaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Overlook This Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The outside and access to this restaurant should not deter you from trying it. The chicken lunches are something to seek out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olde_Curmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I go to La Chocita frequently for lunch or dinner. Though they have a lot of items on the menu I have not made it past the rotisserie chicken. It's amazing! It comes with your choice of two sides. It also comes with a mustard sauce on the side that I crave. The service is always fast and friendly. I am not sure but I believe it is family run and operated.

La Chocita does not serve alcohol of any type. It's great place for lunch, dinner or take-out. I enjoy sitting outside on their patio when the weather is nice.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank runningtravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

In these hard economic times, where else can you feed a family of four a solid meal for less than $30?Excellent rotisserie chicken, with the owner's super-secret spice marinade that he buys in the old country (El Salvador?). Great place for sit down lunch in town, if you're really hungry get the Campesino Alegre--it's a huge platter of stuff with eggs on top. For sides, always get the fried Yucca - you can never go wrong. Pupusas (kinda like quesdillas) are made to order and excellent. Really good chicken soup, too. Everything tastes fresh and homemade. Attention my fellow celiacs: the tortillas used here are corn flour only-including for the pupusas (and no noodles in the soups). They have a kids menu too, this is a very informal place. We do lots of takeout from here, I swear it's cheaper to buy a family size chicken dinner here than it is to buy all the stuff and cook it myself. Waitstaff are very friendly and efficient too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank exNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chocita Grill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to La Chocita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing