We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location, but pretty crowded.”
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 216 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, but pretty crowded.”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I agree with all of the other reviews about the wine, the food and the service, all are wonderful. Be warned if you are from out of town and just dropping in on a Friday or Saturday night, this place is very popular and very crowded and you will wait to get a table while squished up at the bar!

But yes, go, drink and be merry! Well worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    88
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot before going to the wineries”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is one of those iconic Leesburg places that really allows you to experience the downtown scene. The wait staff is extremely professional and courteous. Food is excellent in taste and very well presented.

Here is a chance to experience food in all of it's senses. Since we were heading out to several wine tastings, this was the perfect place to start the tour of the senses.

They have a great wine menu and the staff was knowledgeable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMincemoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunch ”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Will drive all the way to Leesburg just to eat here and it's over 50 miles! Great wine, the potato latky was superb. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Nysaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

After we had gotten several recommendations to visit the Wine Kitchen in Leesburg (there are other locations too!) we decided to make a special trip since we are a good 40 min from it. We went for a late lunch early dinner since we heard there is usually a wait - however they can call or text you when your table is ready and you can walk around the quaint town.

We had the Sandwich – Croque Monsieur (think gooey ham and cheese) / served with side salad and WK Cuban / Baker Farms Pork Loin / Smithfield ham /
House-pickle / Gruyere cheese / house-made chips.
The Croque sandwich was magical and we added the soup of the day which was a tomato bisque so rich and flavorful and the perfect match for the sandwich - a grilled cheese and tomato soup for grownups (the side salad was light and balanced with the meal)!
The Cuban was good, pickles were delightful on the sandwich, chips were thin, crisp and salty but there must have been Horseradish or something on it that at times was overwhelming.I also got a side of Mac n’ cheese that was to die for - I had to keep my husband from devouring it all!!!

They are reasonably priced as we ordered waters two lunches and two additional sides and our bill came to $34 before tip.

We will be back (just hopefully without any run-ins with random horseradish in the dish) !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RUaVTBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Well Worth Waiting”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Wine Kitchen in Leesburg opened during the recession and had standing room only. They never looked back, with regular customers and word of mouth newcomers keeping it busy for lunch and dinner, six days a week. They have a wide and constantly changing selection of wines, both international and local, and serve food worthy of a pricy resort restaurant. Go early, or sit at the bar and enjoy some wine while you wait for a table. it drew the First Lady of Virginia for a repeat visit, and Martha Stewart came after hearing good things. A gem in the historic district of Leesburg.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linden Hall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing