We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy”
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 214 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Millwood, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trendy”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just had a delightful experience at The Wine Kitchen. It was just my husband and myself, so we opted to sit at the bar, the stools have backs, we did a flight of wine each with a app of cheese fondue and meatballs..it's all farm to table, the staff is knowledgable and friendly. It's defiently a place we will return to!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    88
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Maybe a 3+”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped at the Wine Kitchen in Leesburg, VA after a morning of hiking. We wanted something low key - we were in walking clothes - but with good food and a selection of wines by the glass. The Wine Kitchen was the most promising place open on Leesburg's King Street at 2:00 p.m. on a holiday Sunday afternoon. The place is tiny but nicely appointed, with a pretty bar. The staff is knowledgeable and pleasant. They offer a variety of wines, including a flight of three wines to test, and we enjoyed trying the white flight together with a cheese board of three cheeses. The cheeses, with the exception of a Wisconsin blue, which was a lovely surprise, were not inspiring - an overly smoky gouda and a grana padano being the other two offered.
We had light lunch food - a sprout and strawberry salad which was pretty but not particularly tasty and a very well toasted croque monsieur - which was more of a grilled cheese and ham. Over all, the food was fine but not exceptional. Unfortunately on Sunday, they apparently have live entertainment - a singer - who was much too loud for the tiny restaurant and who made it impossible to have a quiet glass of wine and conversation.
Over all, I'd say that the staff tries hard and works hard - but someone needs to pay attention to the overall experience and decide what they really want to deliver.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nemo1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I went here based on the reviews for our anniversary and were not disappointed! Amazing. It is very small and noisy but we knew that going into it so it made it better. The wine samplers were so fun. My husband tried the local one and I did bubblicous one. Fantastic choices. We did try the meat and cheese tray which was very filling and exceeded our expectations. I orders the ham and cheese sandwich which is as gooey as they said. My husband had the best scallops there that made our mouth water. No room for dessert but hope to try it next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gjscollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Go During Happy Hour 3-6 p.m.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great wine and food. During happy hour the daily wines can be had two for $7 and small food plates two for $7. We couldn't decide on which plate(s) to get so we just ordered all five of them. All were excellent and just the right size for our party of four. A nice touch on the wines is they give you tasting notes when they serve it. Really helps in my wine education. The Pinot Grigio from Annalisa was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“A Real Gem!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants...anywhere. It is small, but the menu is top flight! It is open most of the time and so easy to just walk in and receive an excellent meal. No need to go into the District for an incredible experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing