We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for attitude”
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 218 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You pay for attitude”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

All of the positive reviews led me to the Wine Kitchen. Yes, the food was good. What little portions of food they served, at least.
The wine? Cherry-picked. Decent wine but nothing you can't find at Wegmans.
The atmosphere? Stuffy, loud and pretentious.
Perhaps cooking with wine would be a better choice than frequenting the Wine Kitchen. I applaud the effort but I'd rather have wines not available in supermarkets or Total Wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funkybrunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    89
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of my favorite meals...all time”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I ate there on a Saturday evening. Be prepared to wait a bit, as the restaurant does not take reservations. But once you arrive, you can be added to a wait list. We thought it was well worth the wait. The owner worked the bar while we were there. The wine was fantastic, and my dinner was top-notch. Service was great, and the atmosphere was amazing. It is a tiny place, but it is well loved by the locals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyDArlington_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wine Flight o' Fancy”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have eaten here several times and the service, wine selections, and food have been consistently very good. With a lively bistro atmosphere, they offer several three-wine flights with clever names and rather involved whimsical tasting note cards with each wine. The charcuterie plate is nice with fresh local sausages, pate, and serrano ham that changes periodically.

They offer a limited menu, but the dishes are all wonderfully prepared, ranging from Coq Au Vin, to Saltimbocca, to a rabbit dish. Specials change regularly--the last time we were there we sat at the bar, (which is the most fun) and the appetizer special was fois gras with bacon and roasted garlic. The dinner special was St. Louis marinated ribs, that two people had at the bar--looked wonderful.

They also have other wines by the bottle if you ask, but most of the wines in the flights are very approachable and selected with care.

This place isn't large, and they don't reserve, so on a Friday or Saturday night it gets loud as people come in and stand around in the middle of the restaurant having a glass of wine and waiting for their table. Actually, this is the point--it is very social and everyone seems to be patient and happy to have a glass, chat, and get a look at what others are eating. Leesburg is still a small, horsey (read moneyed fox hunt-type) town that has become a bedroom community for northern VA professionals, so the vibe is casual and friendly. Everyone ends up getting a table, or if they must, they can have a glass and walk to another of several nearby restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineloverVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Historic Unique Charm and Great Food!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had dinner on a Sunday night with adult daughter and friend. I'd heard many good things about this restaurant from "foodies" so the bar was set high! It was fabulous! We all shared "chicken and waffles." Don't let the name fool you - It's Roasted quail, savory Belgian waffle and braised kale with bacon that will cause you to make guttereal sounds.;-) order as entree or share as appetizer. Everything is smaller than usual plates here (love that, too - don't leave stuffed!).

We had the sesame braisd scallops, rabbit ragout and German mussels as entrees. We all cleaned our plates. Two of us had soups. We all had 1-2 glaases of wine. Loved the creative descriptions of the wines delivered on a card with the glasses. (Someone is quite the creative writer and this little touch was appreciated!)
Total bill before tip $115. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars ... Need more seating or reservations, and inside temperature was a bit hot on this chilly VA eve. But these are little things.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must stop”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was there for lunch. Staff was outgoing and all the food was great. A must try should be the leek bread pudding. Will be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Concretepelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing