We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice diversion”

Historical White's Ferry
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
home
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice diversion”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We tried the ferry as an alternative to the Beltway back to Vienna, VA from Maryland. It worked fine, even on a weekend when we suspected there might be a long wait. We were pleasantly surprised when the wait was only about 10 minutes. The ferry is not a major attraction, taking only about 10 minutes to cross a peaceful stretch of the Potomac, but the history is interesting. Moreover, it is a nice alternative to the crowded beltway and costs only $5 per car.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jotenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    83
    23
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Broadlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shortcut into Montgomery County Maryland”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have relatives who live in Maryland fairly close to the ferry. We live in Virginia between Dulles Airport and Leesburg. We can either take the toll road to I-495 to I-270 North or take Route 15 to White's Ferry. The latter is a MUCH prettier ride and and quicker as well. For occasional trips or on weekends it's a wonderful option. To use it every day could be frustrating unless you timed the ferry perfectly and were able to judge the traffic patterns. It's about a 5 minute crossing and the views are good from the ferry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronABroadlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Nice ride, serene, beautiful”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Yes its just a ferry ride and takes 10 mins or less to cross the Potomac..Having said that, this place is so beautiful and a really fun way to cross the river and explore the other side... the banks on both sides offer excellent viewing areas with shady trees... We went there on a weekday and it was very quite and relaxing and beautiful too..
It is definitely not a tourist attraction and you don't have to drive all the way from DC or bigger towns just for this- but if you happen to be in this area, check it out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambience B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We have heard about this ferry several time but yesterday we need to save time and miles to reach north Virginia from Maryland . We never seen before this amazing way of communication ..worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Subha87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
“always fun”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

There aren't many ferries like this left around the U.S., and this brief ride is always fun for the whole family. It also happens to be the only way to conveniently get across the river north of the American Legion bridge just outside of DC.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical White's Ferry also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Historical White's Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing